School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Great recipie, just like my old cafeteria used to serve. I live in Spain and the powdered yeast we get here is practically worthless. Once I figured out that I had to use real yeast instead of the powdered stuff the rolls turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Yum....be sure to cook long enough . It takes some time for them to brown and cook through. I used a glass pie pan w /shortening and rubbed stick of butter on tops of rolls and cooked until golden . This made a ton. next time I will half .I kept in fridg for about 4 days and just kept pulling from it to bake . Adding to rotation for sure ...Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
didn't work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Awesome recipe. I cut it in half or thirds to make great cinnamon rolls as well. I have also made it with organic wheat pastry flour it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought these were just ok, nothing special. I think I'll stick to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My 10 yr old came home from school today BEGGING me to get the my friend (the lunch lady at his school) to teach me how to make the rolls they serve in the cafeteria. It would be 2 days before she had time to get together with me, so I turned to the internet! This being my FIRST time baking bread, not to mention my limited cooking skills in general.....I felt pretty brave just for trying. Well....I hate to admit allowing him to do this......but he ate FOUR of these rolls right out of the oven!! His comment: "Mom, I never say this about your home cooking but (as he placed his fingers at his mouth and saluted me with a kiss!).....SUPERB!!!" He then went on to tell me that my rolls blew the cafeterias OUT OF THE WATER! Wow! What a compliment! My heart SOARED and I was filled with pride! LOL. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrankster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
good, but kind of thick.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are the best rolls ever. It is so worth the time and effort. I have made these several times with no problems they are a favorite with my family. Just like the school rolls we used to have when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! Found this recipe approximately 2 years ago, made them to bring to a family get together! They were polished off! Now they are requested at every family function! Thank you Mommy2threeangels for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kidcallous
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made these rolls today as a 'trial run' while trying to find a winning recipe for thanksgiving dinner. This is it! Although when I make them tomorrow, I will add about an extra 1/2 tsp of salt or so.... I brushed some melted butter on these before baking to add a light 'shine' to them, and to encourage browning. These are AMAZING! I can't wait to hear the accolades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States