School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Awesome recipe. I cut it in half or thirds to make great cinnamon rolls as well. I have also made it with organic wheat pastry flour it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I thought these were just ok, nothing special. I think I'll stick to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My 10 yr old came home from school today BEGGING me to get the my friend (the lunch lady at his school) to teach me how to make the rolls they serve in the cafeteria. It would be 2 days before she had time to get together with me, so I turned to the internet! This being my FIRST time baking bread, not to mention my limited cooking skills in general.....I felt pretty brave just for trying. Well....I hate to admit allowing him to do this......but he ate FOUR of these rolls right out of the oven!! His comment: "Mom, I never say this about your home cooking but (as he placed his fingers at his mouth and saluted me with a kiss!).....SUPERB!!!" He then went on to tell me that my rolls blew the cafeterias OUT OF THE WATER! Wow! What a compliment! My heart SOARED and I was filled with pride! LOL. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrankster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
good, but kind of thick.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are the best rolls ever. It is so worth the time and effort. I have made these several times with no problems they are a favorite with my family. Just like the school rolls we used to have when I was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I can't believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! Found this recipe approximately 2 years ago, made them to bring to a family get together! They were polished off! Now they are requested at every family function! Thank you Mommy2threeangels for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kidcallous
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made these rolls today as a 'trial run' while trying to find a winning recipe for thanksgiving dinner. This is it! Although when I make them tomorrow, I will add about an extra 1/2 tsp of salt or so.... I brushed some melted butter on these before baking to add a light 'shine' to them, and to encourage browning. These are AMAZING! I can't wait to hear the accolades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Yep these are the ones!! Although I do agree with othere reviews that this recipe could use a tad more salt. I feel that is a personal preference and does not take away from the ease of making these delicious rolls. I was looking for a recipe for dinner rolls for Thanksgiving and I think I have found it! Makes plenty and they turn out beautiful. Scaled recipe down to 15 servings and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing and bringing back so many great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I was fortunate to grow up in a district where the school cafeteria food was pretty darn good. These rolls are just like the ones I grew up on. In fact, since my grandma was also my favorite lunch lady, this recipe takes me back to the days when she would bring me some of the leftover rolls to have at home. The schools also used to use the same dough to make the best cinnamon rolls. I'll be trying that this weekend. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is nothing like my school food. You couldn't even eat my school food. LOL. But this is very good!!! I am making them for thanksgiving some of them I am going to add a little honey to them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States