School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MikoH6
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These rolls were deliciously light and fluffy. However, I did make a few changes. First, I halved the recipe, but I used 2 packets of the yeast, 1/2cup sugar instead of the 1/3, 3 1/2cups white flour and 1 1/2cups whole wheat flour, I started with 1/8cup milk but ended up adding about a 1/4 milk or a little more because of the thickness the whole wheat flour brings(although I added the extra milk after all the ingredients were in just to pull the dough off the bowl), 3tbls. shortening, and 3tbls. butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Fabulous! I made it exactly as the recipe said to and I love them! Better than any dinner roll I've ever had. Right now I have a pan of frozen ones on my stove. Tomorrow morning, I'll know if it works to freeze them in the pan before the last rising. Next time, and there will be many "next times," I'm gonna take someone's suggestion and use part whole wheat flour and honey, so I can pretend they are good for me... It worked; they were fine after freezing. I left them out and covered all night. I should have baked them longer, though, maybe 15 minutes more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Yes, yes, yes! Fabulous warm, light, fluffy mounds of deliciousness!! Don't improvise, just follow the recipe and be sure to let them double in size on the last rise! We devoured them with butter and honey - YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a great recipe. My kids loved them and they smelled so good when they were baking. I did cut this recipe down to a 20 serving. I am a single mother with two kids so even this serving size is more than enough. The recipe allow for you to adjust and it gives adjustment based on size, but I further tweaked it by using a whole egg, 3 2/3 cups of flour 3 tablespoons of sugar and 4 tablespoons of shortening. My experience with baking allowed me to make these judgements and they worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tried the school house rolls and compared them against the "old family recipe" this one was much easier and the rolls were a big hit. I added just a smidgen more sugar on the first kneading. We ran out of rolls within a couple of hours. They were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Although I followed the recipe to a "T" and the rolls looked delicious before going into the oven, they came out dry and a little hard. And they didn't puff up at all in the oven..not really sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
We are a family of seven and for one of the few times in our lives, all seven of us were thoroughly pleased! They cleaned the tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Direen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Can't wait to try this recipe. I love hot rolls and my school made the best. We had wonderful meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I tried the recipe, making 1/2 the original. I was greatly disappointed.These turned out without much taste to them. I was looking for a recipe that really enhanced the yeast in the taste.Gonna try Sweet yeast rolls next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Minneola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Didn't work at all. I ended up with rolls better suited for golfing. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States