School Cafeteria Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made these using Erin H.'s measurements. My husband grew up in a Chicago suburb and without telling him the name of the recipe he said they tasted like his school cookies. I didn't care for them until the next day and then I loved them! I think if they are crumbling then the flour isn't incorporate well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I followed the 15 serving recipe posted by Erin H (thanks for posting Erin H) Cookies came out delicious. Made 46 cookies. My husband couldn't stop raving about them. They do taste just like the school cafeteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I've tried this twice. Very dry. Takes to long to cook. Maybe it is because I downsized the recipe for 12 servings.I did read the footnote and gave them a try anyway. Will not make for home use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
It's probably just me...but I didn't like these cookies much. They seemed 'chalky' and 'crumbly' with little flavor. I like chewy cookies and this wasn't it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent! I scaled the recipe down & made 11 doz. Baked at 350 for 12 minutes & let cool on the cookie sheet before removing. DH loved them and found them to have a "soothing flavor." My one son is not a big fan of peanut butter and he really enjoyed these also. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I baked these cookies last night, using the smaller amounts listed by other posters. They absolutely melt in your mouth! Nice and flavorful, and they go very well with coffee. My husband took a large supply to work with him, and by the end of first break, half of them had disappeared. He checked back when it was time to come home, and there was not a cookie to be found. Am now checking around to borrow an institutional mixer to make cookies for the local food pantry. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Really good cookies! My only issue was that for some reason these took waaaaay longer to cook in my oven than the recipe stated, about 14 minutes. Usually my oven runs about 25 degrees hot, so, no idea why. Once they were done they were lovely chewy peanut buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mitch
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I wanted to stay home over the weekend to avoid spending too much $$$ so I came here to find recipes...Oh my- this is much more fulfilling that I expected. The cookies turned out amazing. The recipe is so easy to follow and the cookies are truly worthwhile. I think a little less sugar would be good but everything else was perfect. I will be baking these for my guests in a few days. I also have photos to post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
THIS IS A GREAT COOKIE!! I actually decided to try this because it said "school cafeteria", and that was appealing...boy, am I glad I did. I would go so far as to say that EVERYONE who ate this cookie LOVED IT. I followed the measurements posted in the review by Erin H. on June 9,09...and it was spot on!THESE WERE GREAT!! I will use this recipe from now on. In total, 9 different people ate these and each one raved about it. A friend and her mom actually called me on the phone after they were in the car eating the cookies...they called to rave and say how good they were! As with all of us out here in "all recipe" land, I love when people love my cooking/baking! Try this recipe and you will not be disappointed. I made the cookies regular size (1"-1.5" balls), and baked them at 350. The recipe temperature & time is for large cookies so if you want regular size cookies, bake at 350 for about 8-9 minutes. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyFuentes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Excellent peanut butter cookies, and I don't even particularly like peanut butter cookies. Following a previous member's review, I converted for the 15 serving recipe. If you don't have a scale, it came out to 1 1/4 C. shortening, 1 1/4 C. white sugar, 3/4 C. brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1 C. peanut butter, 2 3/4 C. all-purpose flour, 1 3/4 tsp. baking soda, 1/4 tsp. salt, Follow the same instructions. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States