Schnitzel with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't know what greek seasoning consisted of so I kept it simple with salt, pepper, and some garlic powder directly on the pork. The buttery crackers work wonderfully as a coating which I did as directed with pepper and not as directed with a little garlic powder. The only issue...they cook quickly and burn before allowing the pork to cook fully even with the instructions followed. My recommendation, is to either use the traditionally thin schnitzel (I did a non-traditional 1/2") or saute the schnitzel till golden brown on both sides and pop in a preheated oven for 10 to 15 minutes. A definite must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just a note about the seasoning....It can really be what is to your taste but if you want to stick to the recipe as I do it can be any Greek type seasoning as long as it is ground ....little chunks of seasoning might not cook right. The seasoning I use has pepper garlic powder onion powder and a few others that just say herbs for them , down side for some on the Cavender's if they do use, it does have msg in it. I personally don't mind using msg but I know there are those out there that don't like using it. So best bet is to go with a simple seasoning that u like and use that if you don't want the msg or if you can't find Cavender's. On the browning too fast this is cooked in butter so the browning time is shorter than with oil, so these must be cooked low and slow they will crisp but they should take time also when I originally submitted this recipe I said thicker than normal but did not specify thickness ( sorry that was my goof) that was added when they kitchen certified the recipe. 1/2 in is too thick I tend toward 1/4. Schnitzel is usually pretty thin ...1/8 or thinner. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These are excellent but felt they were just a different twist on fried pork chops. The greek seasoning that you mentioned is awesome. I only fried them for 3 minutes each side and they were perfectly done. Also used 1/2 c. butter and 1/2 c. olive oil for frying them in....gotta watch the waistline somewhere along the way. Served with smashed, parsley red potatoes and green beans. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great, easy recipe! I didn't have Greek seasoning so I went for it and found some mixed seasonings and used those instead and it all worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My whole family loved this so much! I did not tell my husband what the ingredients are (he is German) and he said "Wow that is authentic German cooking!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My husband loved this so much I think he would have licked the frying pan! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
A great dinner, QUICK and EASY. Just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Made these tonight for dinner. Fantastic recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
i used the "greek seasoning recipe" on this site since i didnt have any on hand. the seasoning was great! like the title says, this is not the traditional schnitzel but it's good. the cooking time is way too long if you pound it thin. i would say 5 minutes a side on medium high heat. the cracker crust is good but it does burn a little quick so you gotta def develop a technique. all in all, will make it this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States