Schnitzel with a Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jeddie4444
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have never made schnitzel before. My family always orders it when we visit our favorite german restaurant I made this and LOVED this recipie, as did my family . It was as good as the restaurant! Very tender, very flavorful and surely as the poster mentioned not something a health concious person would want to eat on a regular basis, but as a comfort food treat I will be making this at least a few times a year. I used cubed pork chops so I didn't have to pound them all and could skip that step. Otherwise I followed it exactly. The cooking method and notes given by the poster were perfect! It was moist, tender, very flavorful and browned beautifully as promised although I had my doubts. Nothing like another version of a fried pork chop as another review mentioned. I served it with hunter gravy (a packaged mix), and red cabbage. Yum! Thanks so much for posting this Stephanie. It will be now how I always make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My husband who also lived in Germany LOVES these and requests them all the time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
i used the "greek seasoning recipe" on this site since i didnt have any on hand. the seasoning was great! like the title says, this is not the traditional schnitzel but it's good. the cooking time is way too long if you pound it thin. i would say 5 minutes a side on medium high heat. the cracker crust is good but it does burn a little quick so you gotta def develop a technique. all in all, will make it this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Made these tonight for dinner. Fantastic recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These are excellent but felt they were just a different twist on fried pork chops. The greek seasoning that you mentioned is awesome. I only fried them for 3 minutes each side and they were perfectly done. Also used 1/2 c. butter and 1/2 c. olive oil for frying them in....gotta watch the waistline somewhere along the way. Served with smashed, parsley red potatoes and green beans. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Great, easy recipe! I didn't have Greek seasoning so I went for it and found some mixed seasonings and used those instead and it all worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
My whole family loved this so much! I did not tell my husband what the ingredients are (he is German) and he said "Wow that is authentic German cooking!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My husband loved this so much I think he would have licked the frying pan! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Just a note about the seasoning....It can really be what is to your taste but if you want to stick to the recipe as I do it can be any Greek type seasoning as long as it is ground ....little chunks of seasoning might not cook right. The seasoning I use has pepper garlic powder onion powder and a few others that just say herbs for them , down side for some on the Cavender's if they do use, it does have msg in it. I personally don't mind using msg but I know there are those out there that don't like using it. So best bet is to go with a simple seasoning that u like and use that if you don't want the msg or if you can't find Cavender's. On the browning too fast this is cooked in butter so the browning time is shorter than with oil, so these must be cooked low and slow they will crisp but they should take time also when I originally submitted this recipe I said thicker than normal but did not specify thickness ( sorry that was my goof) that was added when they kitchen certified the recipe. 1/2 in is too thick I tend toward 1/4. Schnitzel is usually pretty thin ...1/8 or thinner. Hope this helps......Been a couple years and I have tried something new for those of you who don't want to play around with pounding out. I know not all may have a Wal Mart available but for those that do the the loin chops that say thin on the package they sell work awesome for this recipe for easier prep. Used them a few times now and I almost like them better then pounding out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled bone-in pork chops with a smoky marinade.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States