Schmag Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was a great way to use the grapefruit I had laying around! I did not have orange extract, so I added the juice of ½ orange instead. I also did not have mangoes, pears or jicama. For 3 hearty servings, I used ½ grapefruit for juice, ½ orange for juice, 2 Tbsp. honey, 2 Tbsp. cilantro (the fresh kind in a tube they sell in the produce refrigerated section), ½ grapefruit for chunks, 1 ½ oranges for chunks and 1 red unpeeled apple for chunks. Very refreshing salad that got raves from my dinner crowd! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this salad for a work party and it was a HUGE hit!! I love the fact that it's unique and uses some of my favorite fruits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Kind of silly to review your own recipe but I wanted to comment on the name of it. Unfortunately I could not get in under my original account name. Schmag is short for Schmagmattis. It is my nickname given to me by my brothers. I rarely write down recipes but have cooked for many years. I went through culinary school and worked at a five star resort. I made this recipe with a challenge from the chef in charge of the salad bar. He wanted something new and different for the customers. Thank you all for your reviews I really appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very good. I made it as written. This makes a huge amount of fruit salad -- those six servings are enormous ones. We liked it at lot. I wonder if anyone can tell me the origin of the name "Schmag Salad." Or dare I ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pollyhuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Delicious! This is refreshing and a great combination of fruit. A change from the ordinary fruit salad. I didn't have the cilantro nor the jicama so I omitted those. I didn't have orange extract so I just juiced half of an orange and poured that in. We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Lots of chopping but worth it. We have peaches in season so I used some firm peaches instead of the pears and it was great. The cilantro was a really nice kick. This is such a light summery salad - I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
The cilantro is the real zinger in this recipe....adds wonderful flavor! Although it takes a while to cut up the fruit, many compliments are sure to be received. I garnished the top of mine with thinly sliced persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States