Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really great recipe! I love that it's easy to make because all the ingredients are kitchen basics. The bread was a holy terror to get out of the pan, so next time I'll probably just line it with aluminum foil, spray it and sprinkle the corn meal. I prepared it exactly as stated and baked the dough in 2 loaf pans, then cut each loaf in half making 4 sandwich buns. I spread a chipotle mayo on, added cheese and meat and broiled the sandwich. The texture of the bread is very much like Schlotzsky's, which is what I was going for. BTW, the title name is spelled wrong, which made the recipe difficult to find. But it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I increased the salt to 1tsp, I used butter flavored Pam, made a big difference, I sprayed my hand with Pam and spread the dough out in cake pans, made two large breads, cut into four servings each, great bread, easy to make, will use again, noticed the bread was even better the next day after it settled down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
WOW! I would never have believed that I would be able to make a Schlotsky's with my own meats. Thank you for this, so much!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I've never even heard of Schlotzsky's but was intrigued by the name and the story behind it, so I was compelled to make this immediately! It's delicious. It's basically a focaccia bread that ues some milk instead of all water. I used olive oil spray for the pan (and sprinkled it with the cornmeal) and then again on top when it was ready to bake then sprinkled it with Penzy's Shallot Pepper seasoning and salt. I had added a few drops of malt vinegar to the batter as I was mixing the first stage of the batter to fake in a bit of sour dough flavor. It worked, I think, it had a slight sour dough flavor and was chewy and full of airy holes all throughout the crumb. I can imagine it would make a wonderful sandwich bread. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Wonderful bread and to me it is like Schlotsky's. I'm a novice baker, so it was somewhat annoying to use a thermometer so the yeast was just right, but I took the time for the water and milk. I followed the recipe pretty much as is, adding a little more salt and using three cake pans instead of pie plates. Made wonderful sandwiches with provolone cheese, lunchmeat, and olive salad (toast bread brushed with olive oil). This toasts beautifully. Try it, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Let me begin by saying I had to Google Shlotsky's to see what it was, so I can't tell you if it is similar, but it is great bread. I did use all purpose flour and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread is delicious! I used regular flour, but only used 2 1/4 cups of flour since the recipe said to reduce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Made this today, first time followed the recipe exactly and I liked it very much. The second time I added sourdough starter to the recipe and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great Bread - easy recipe. But it is not the same as Schlotzsky's bread. The taste and texture are just not it. Very good, and I will make again - but it won't satisfy the craving for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was pretty good. I was nervous about the dough/batter appearance and just putting a blob into the middle of a pie plate. But it spread out nicely and rose well and baked up just fine. I used one for a giant sandwich that I cut into triangles and the other to accompany soup. The best part is the dough only took minutes to make! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States