Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Sooooo close it hurts! Anyway...it does need a little seasoning. Maybe just some more salt would do the trick. I think adding sliced black olives with cheddar and broiling it to melt over the olives gets a lot more of the Schlotskys bread flavor since that's what they do. It was very good though and satisfied my craving since we don't have one near us anymore. Anyway great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great bread. I think the baking soda must give it the perfect texture. My husband loves it and eats a whole loaf by himself. To add variation I use brown sugar, and add 1 tsp of salt, minced garlic, and italian seasonings to the batter. You can also let it rise in the bowl and roll it out for a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Our whole family loved this bread. It isn't quite Schlotsky's bread but darn close. I've made this twice. This last time I used half of what the recipe called for in wheat flour, and the rest in the regular bread flour, just trying to get my family to enjoy a bit of fiber in their diet. I think that either way it is a great way to make a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELEDONA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is great bread. Very close to Schlotzsky’s bread. I made 6 little ‘buns’ in 4 inch tart pans. The first night we had Schlotzsky original sandwiches by melting cheddar cheese on one half and mozzarella and parmesan cheese on the other side under the broiler. Then added chopped kalamata olives, warmed ham, genoa salami and turkey with a garlic dressing and a little mayo and shredded lettuce. I didn’t have any tomatoes or onions, but that would have made it perfect. Two days later, we built mini pizzas out of the bread halves. Very yummy, I will make this bread often. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
Delicious! I love making bread and love trying new recipes. This bread was great! I loved it so much, I made a second batch a couple hours after the first so I could share it with my mother and brother. Perfect for a warm or cold sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
If you are a fan of Schlotzsky's bread, this is it! It's extremely easy to make and it's also extremely addictive! Five stars all around...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This is delicious. Batter bread is great for those who like bread but don't want to knead. When dusting the bottom of the pie shell with cornmeal I also added a touch of salt. I will make a sandwich with this for a Memorial Day party. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
This was a wonderful treat! Thanks! You have to try this! Chelita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Amazingly close to Schlotsky's. My whole family loved this. I upped the amount of salt due to the reviews...added about a teaspoon but otherwise stuck to the recipe except for the pans. I used personal pizza pans to make individual loaves. They turned out fabulous. I can't wait to make a jalapeno cheese version. I will make these again and again. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Close but no cigar. Too bland, definately needs more salt, try seasoned salt. I prefer ciabatta bread by Marina from this site for a similar bread (I don't use a bread machine and don't mist for a soft crust). Eons ago I worked at Schlotzsky's and had first shift cutting the buns, meat, veggies. Horizontal is correct. As just previously suggested individual springform pans make great molds for (large) single serving. A cake pan is the correct form for a large. (several of these make an impressive presentation for a party/gathering) Cut to serve as you would a pie, small or large slices. To make a GREAT sammy try this...Slice bread horizontally and give it a healthy drizzle with infused olive oil then add a good healthy sprinkle of grated sharp provolone (BelGioioso is good). This is like a romano or parm cz. Broil (or toast in toaster oven)then add thinly sliced smoked turkey, shredded lettuce, and thinly sliced tomatoes and red onion. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States