Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was one of the easiest breads to throw together. We can't get Schlotsky's where we are so we were thrilled to be able to make it at home. They lightly toast the bread and then lightly broil the meat/cheese. I served it up Schlotsky's style with roasted turkey, tomato, lettuce, mayo and black pepper. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Pretty good bread. It does need more salt in the recipe. I would let the rolls rise longer so they aren't as dense. I added 1/3 cup of ground flax seed to add some fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jax
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is great bread. Very close to Schlotzsky’s bread. I made 6 little ‘buns’ in 4 inch tart pans. The first night we had Schlotzsky original sandwiches by melting cheddar cheese on one half and mozzarella and parmesan cheese on the other side under the broiler. Then added chopped kalamata olives, warmed ham, genoa salami and turkey with a garlic dressing and a little mayo and shredded lettuce. I didn’t have any tomatoes or onions, but that would have made it perfect. Two days later, we built mini pizzas out of the bread halves. Very yummy, I will make this bread often. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong or if I had a different sandwich than everyone else! This was super dense, not light and airy and crisy, and I could taste th baking soda. I followed the recipe but added more salt. I want that holey crispy light bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linriyum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Amazingly close to Schlotsky's. My whole family loved this. I upped the amount of salt due to the reviews...added about a teaspoon but otherwise stuck to the recipe except for the pans. I used personal pizza pans to make individual loaves. They turned out fabulous. I can't wait to make a jalapeno cheese version. I will make these again and again. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Sooooo close it hurts! Anyway...it does need a little seasoning. Maybe just some more salt would do the trick. I think adding sliced black olives with cheddar and broiling it to melt over the olives gets a lot more of the Schlotskys bread flavor since that's what they do. It was very good though and satisfied my craving since we don't have one near us anymore. Anyway great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This is the easiest. yummiest sandwich bread. I actually forgot to spray the bread with cooking spray before cooking and it was hard when it came out. I realized that I forgot to spray it and sprayed it right then. The next time I walked by it was perfect. Exactly like schlotzky's bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Based on other reviews, I used 2cups wheat flour and 1/2 cup a/p. Used a full cup of whole milk, seasoned salt, and some garlic powder, and the bread came out wonderful. It is a little flat, but if yours is like a hockey puck, your yeast has probably expired. Thanks for the post, we'll use this often! Next time I'll add 3/4 cup shredded cheese for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States