Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Pretty good. I took the other reviewers advice and added a bit more salt (3/4 ts) and it turned out well. We didn't have any cornmeal, but they came out fine from a glass Pyrex pie plate sprinkled with a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
The bread mimicks Schlotsky's very well, but I also agree to add more salt. The bread is a little bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan Jonson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haviland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This bread has the exact texture as Schlotsky's. I use 3/4 tsp salt for my personal taste. I've found that when I skip the cornmeal, the bread sticks to the pan so don't skip the cornmeal! This makes a delicious replacement for cornbread with a bowl of beans. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GO82RO
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
once again, the recipe was exactly as presented. the texture of the bread and the taste is just like the restaurant. very easy to make. i'm very glad to have found allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Tasty, easy to make...What's not to like? I use all whole wheat flour instead of the bread flour and increase the milk to a full cup and this bread comes out perfect every time. And as for letting it cool for an hour? My family loves this bread SO much that by the time an hour is up, the bread is long gone...Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Having never been to Schlotsky's, how do you slice this for a sandwich? I can only assume horizontally through the middle. Light, yummy taste. Weird shape. Maybe I'll try a loaf pan next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
While I agree that the taste is slightly bland and needs a little tweaking, the consistency of this bread is PERFECT and it is SO easy to make. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I really liked this recipe. It turned out with a texture just like Schlotsky's - but it seemed to lack a little in taste, next time I might add some extra salt or garlic or something. I baked mine in 2 9" cake pans and just used cooking spray on the bottom (didn't have cornmeal). The bread turned out too thin, next time I'll make it in smaller containers. And it was a little hard to unstick the bread from the bottom of the pan, but it eventually came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Great bread. I think the baking soda must give it the perfect texture. My husband loves it and eats a whole loaf by himself. To add variation I use brown sugar, and add 1 tsp of salt, minced garlic, and italian seasonings to the batter. You can also let it rise in the bowl and roll it out for a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
It was all right...kinda dry but I may have cooked it too long or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States