Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This is the easiest. yummiest sandwich bread. I actually forgot to spray the bread with cooking spray before cooking and it was hard when it came out. I realized that I forgot to spray it and sprayed it right then. The next time I walked by it was perfect. Exactly like schlotzky's bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Based on other reviews, I used 2cups wheat flour and 1/2 cup a/p. Used a full cup of whole milk, seasoned salt, and some garlic powder, and the bread came out wonderful. It is a little flat, but if yours is like a hockey puck, your yeast has probably expired. Thanks for the post, we'll use this often! Next time I'll add 3/4 cup shredded cheese for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was really good and unique! I baked the whole thing in a 9x5 loaf pan instead of in two pie pans (I wanted to be able to slice it the normal way instead of the "Schlotzsky's way") and it came out just fine. This is really yummy toasted with a little butter - that's all it needs! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemrslarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Awesome for sandwiches. I also added more salt though, and used half whole wheat flour successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Close but no cigar. Too bland, definately needs more salt, try seasoned salt. I prefer ciabatta bread by Marina from this site for a similar bread (I don't use a bread machine and don't mist for a soft crust). Eons ago I worked at Schlotzsky's and had first shift cutting the buns, meat, veggies. Horizontal is correct. As just previously suggested individual springform pans make great molds for (large) single serving. A cake pan is the correct form for a large. (several of these make an impressive presentation for a party/gathering) Cut to serve as you would a pie, small or large slices. To make a GREAT sammy try this...Slice bread horizontally and give it a healthy drizzle with infused olive oil then add a good healthy sprinkle of grated sharp provolone (BelGioioso is good). This is like a romano or parm cz. Broil (or toast in toaster oven)then add thinly sliced smoked turkey, shredded lettuce, and thinly sliced tomatoes and red onion. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
I loved this bread. I got some miniature springform pans and made them in that. it is surprisingly close to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Best bread recipe ever.. I added 1 tsp of salt instead of just 1/2, and added some garlic powder and thyme to the dough.. it was great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very good, only change was to 3/4 teaspoon salt. I made dough in bread machine, divided dough in two, and baked in two 8 inch round cake pans. This worked out perfect. Something different for sandwiches. Schlotzsky's always toasted their bread, we did this with this recipe tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
The hubby, and I really liked this bread! Even my picky toddler had a piece.This is very easy to make, and it does taste like Schlotsky's bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
Pretty good. I took the other reviewers advice and added a bit more salt (3/4 ts) and it turned out well. We didn't have any cornmeal, but they came out fine from a glass Pyrex pie plate sprinkled with a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States