Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Wonderful bread and to me it is like Schlotsky's. I'm a novice baker, so it was somewhat annoying to use a thermometer so the yeast was just right, but I took the time for the water and milk. I followed the recipe pretty much as is, adding a little more salt and using three cake pans instead of pie plates. Made wonderful sandwiches with provolone cheese, lunchmeat, and olive salad (toast bread brushed with olive oil). This toasts beautifully. Try it, you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Let me begin by saying I had to Google Shlotsky's to see what it was, so I can't tell you if it is similar, but it is great bread. I did use all purpose flour and it still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This bread is delicious! I used regular flour, but only used 2 1/4 cups of flour since the recipe said to reduce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Made this today, first time followed the recipe exactly and I liked it very much. The second time I added sourdough starter to the recipe and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great Bread - easy recipe. But it is not the same as Schlotzsky's bread. The taste and texture are just not it. Very good, and I will make again - but it won't satisfy the craving for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was pretty good. I was nervous about the dough/batter appearance and just putting a blob into the middle of a pie plate. But it spread out nicely and rose well and baked up just fine. I used one for a giant sandwich that I cut into triangles and the other to accompany soup. The best part is the dough only took minutes to make! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This bread is great, but there's something wrong with the recipe. The dough does not resemble a batter; it's extremely thick and not pourable at all. I was so frustrated by the thickness that I added additional milk--about 1 cup more than the recipe calls for--and the bread turned out just fine. In summary, the recipe is flawed, but the bread is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Awesome! Fairly easy for a newbie. I've tried to make several different kinds of breads and usually end up with bricks of cardboard. This recipe was awesome! No changes and it came out exactly like Schlotsky's. Might add some crushed Jalapeño next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The first time I made this, it turned out like hockey pucks. Dry, hard and dense. I knew that I must have done something wrong. I decided to try it again yesterday, and although I still don't know where I went wrong the first time, it worked like a charm this time. After letting the bread cool, I cut into it, and there was the famous airy, light bread that I was expecting. My kids all had their lunch sandwiches with the bread and it is so good. I am so glad that we can make it at home now - thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was quick to make and pretty good. I followed the recipe as directed and put the dough in 2 pirex pie plates, let it rise for an hour. I sprayed the plates with non-stick spray and sprinkled really lightly with garlic salt as I did not have cornmeal. Sprayed the loaves with the spray, sprinkled with a little more garlic salt and a few toasted sesame seeds before I covered them to let them rise. Baked as directed. They turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States