Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
We made these for the first time over the holidays this past year and LOVED how yummy my house smelled! We will make these annually for the holidays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neecie_Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My son and I made these in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. We added some glue and some fine red glitter. Great gifts for Grandma, teachers, etc. They are still drying, but so far so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Not smelly enough to suit me. Maybe I need to find some cinnamon oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these to hand out at my office Christmas party. They were a big hit. I only got about 30 ornaments out of the recipe but I did make them a little thicker. Took approx 3 days to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We made these yesterday. They turned out beautifully. I only used 1c applesauce and slightly more than 1c cinnamon. Actually, I gave each of my kids an individual applesauce cup and there own mixing bowl and spoon and measured a heaping 1/2c cinnamon for them and set them loose mixing and kneading the dough. They loved making these. We, too, used straws to make the hole for the ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Runny and didn't smell as strong as I thought they would after a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Watch out on the ratios. I used a tad too much applesauce and it was a tad sticky. Smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I used my stand mixer to make this dough and let me just say, be prepared for a mess if you mix it this way...clouds of cinnamon deposited everywhere, but it was lots of fun. This recipe makes A LOT of ornaments, could have halved the recipe and still had plenty. The only alterations I made to this was to add 2-3Tbsp of white glue for strength and approx 3 tsp copper colored ultra fine glitter to the dough. It just added a bit of sparkle to the dull cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just made these with the kids last night! They were too soft to use cookie cutters on and transfer to a pan, even after adding glue, so I added flour. I did this before reading that people add more cinnamon to make them easier to handle. But the flour did the trick! They look beautiful and easy for my 4 and 7 year old to paint with acrylics. Such an EASY project. As for prep time..hardly any at all. We will make this an annual project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I love this idea! I made my first batch, but I'm wondering how to keep it from getting so sticky after setting a few minutes??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States