Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Oh, making these was too fun!! I felt like a kid again. I followed the 1-1 ratio shown here and used 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup cinnamon for mine, and got about 34 small ornaments/package tie-ons. I used a small chopstick to poke a hole in each one, and will hang them on my tree and one in my car when they finish drying! I decided not to bake them, so I will air dry them for a few days, turning them every day (as others on the Internet have suggested). They smell great! 'course, my son came home from school, smelled them and took a big ol' bite out of one! Ewww. Do not eat ~wink~. Thanks, Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
My family made these this year for our Christmas tree and to give out to friends and family. It was fairly easy to work with and kid friendly (I have a two year old and a one year old.) We put the dough between two pieces of wax paper to roll it out. We used a straw to make a hole for the ribbon and we also baked them in the oven as was suggested by the other reviews. I did have a problem getting them off of the cookie sheet- because they weren't completely dry, so be patient, eventually they do dry! We made about 60 ornaments and the only suggestion I can think us is to make sure you don't roll the dough too thin. At least a forth of an inch or so. We bought our cinnamon at Walmart- it was only .50 a bottle and we used 5 bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made 100's of these as package tie-ons, tree ornaments and even hung them in our cars on the door knobs as air fresheners. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I have made these every Christmas since a friend of mine told me you can make them at home. They smell up the house so beautiful! I love to make them just before our holiday parties or before guests come to warm the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is a terrific recipe, my kids and I have made it for years and years. One variation that we tried this year was to melt hard candy in the center of the cookie cut outs. We just cut out the middle of ceratin cookie forms (simple shapes work best) put some crushed hard candies in the center and melted them in the oven. Make sure you spray the cookie sheet so they dont stick. They look like stained glass!! Lots of fun and they look and smell great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was so much fun to make. My daughter and I rolled them out and cut them with Christmas cookie cutters (making sure that the rolling pin was floured)and used a straw to make holes. After 3 days drying time we decorated them with puffy paint (icing) and strung festive ribbon on them. They smell so good. We will hang them on our tree and use them for gift tags. We got a lot of ornaments from this batch. One more tip we dried them on waxed paper to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I worked for a daycare center and use to make these with the kids for X-mas gifts...It is fun for all age's! and the smell......wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I made these ornaments with my girls (Age 4, 1 1/2), trying to start some family traditions of our own. The smell in the house was heavenly. The girls just could not understand why they could not eat the cookie. All in all we had fun doing this together and I look forward to doing this through the years with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was a fun project. Definately use something larger than a toothpick for the hole - (we ended up needing to drill a larger hole through all of ours) - a straw would probably work better. Got the cinnamon at Sam's Club for a little over $3 (exactly 3 c.). Took about 3 days to dry if not baked. I would cut them at LEAST 1/4" - probably a bit thicker. We used fabric paint to decorate and craft paint. They turned out really cute! My 5 yr old and 3 yr old had a blast. Also, after paint dried I used spray polyurithane on both sides to preserve. I was worried it would interfere with the smell, but it didn't. All the relatives loved receiving these from the kids this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDRMOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We made these when my son was in the 3rd grade. He is a senior this year and they still smell great. I store in a ziploc after the holidays. We hang a garland in the doorway and the ornaments from it. When you walk through you just feel good from the homey aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States