Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My daughters made the applesauce-cinnamon ornaments nearly 14 years ago. They still smell wonderful and are in excellent shape. I look forward to hanging them on the tree every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Bowers
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
After cutting out the shapes, I baked them in the oven at 200 degrees for 45 minutes. Afterwards, they were about 90% dry, which was more than enough to paint them and lay them out to finish the process. All in all, it all worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
These are so much fun to make and very easy to work with. I use a bit less applesauce and I bake mine at 250 degrees for about 2 hours. They certainly make your house smell delightful while baking and I hang them on our kitchen tree so that we can continue to enjoy the aroma there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I used this same recipe to make gingerbread garland families. After each piece was made, I cut a paper clip in half and inserted the end into each hand. After drying and decorating, the hands then got tied together with raffia. I used "puff paint" to decorate and each "person" had their name printed down the front. I found that laying them out to dry was the only way to go. They dried flat as opposed to bubbling in the oven. This year I added a dog to one of the families. One year I had a garland family with an egg that eventually got replaced with a little girl. There is so much you can do. Each garland has a heart cookie in the middle. You can add a year or a last name. They make wonderful presents for teachers etc. Kids with hard-to-find names are thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This is the best recipe ever. It made a ton of ornaments too; more than the instructions say. I love how the ingredients are so simple and all natural. (I didn't make any substitutions) I let them dry on a wire rack and they took about 4 days to dry completely. (about 1/4 inch think)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were so easy to make. Rolled mine about 1/4" thick and got lots of ornaments out of this batch. Baked for a few hours in a 180 degree oven, but still weren't completely dry for a day or two. Made the house and oven smell great for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made these for gifts for friends and they were a big hit - even with my friend who teaches a "Christmas Food Gifts" course at the local school. They will be a standard for me at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These smelled so great, I added a tablespoon each of nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. My husband was very dissapointed to find out that they don't taste as good as they smell! I also stuck them in a 200 degree oven for about 2 hours. I burned the batch that was on the bottom rack, so keep an eye on them if you dry them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'd like to make a correction. I baked mine on gas mark 1 for 20 mins on one side and then 20 mins on the other side. Then I air dried them for the rest of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
as stated, this is easy and fun as a family project, gift tags, or car scent. There is a cinnamon flavoring sold in Walmart in the crafts section of the store called LorrAnn sold in dram bottles for $1.97. A drop of this cinnamon oil (on the ornament) will refresh these ornaments with a big BURST of cinnamon smell that will last, and last and last...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States