Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is indeed a wonderful tradition. 3 things...you should definitely strain the applesauce a little and eliminate the extra juice. I also always use a little white glue. Last but not least, Instead of a toothpick to do the hole, I always use a straw. It makes a perfect hole, like a mini cookie cutter, plus the stuff goes up in the straw and you don't have to worry about warping the figure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamacook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These turned out very well! Well, most of them did. The ones that were at least 1/4 inch thick did great, but anything thinner than that and they cracked and split apart during drying. They were also really hard to cut because the dough was SO wet. I tried baking them at a low temperature, but the cinnamon smell was so overwhelming I had to give up on that after about an hour. I let them air dry, and it took about SIX DAYS for them all to dry and release from the cookie sheets. I'll definitely use parchment paper next time, and maybe a little glue to make them less brittle. I painted them with t-shirt paint (found at Wal-Mart in the craft section) and they turned out very cute. Will be using as gift tags for my nieces and nephews' Christmas presents. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole1213
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Overall very easy and great-smelling. I had a little trouble rolling it out in the beginning, but the more I worked with it the easier it was. I think next time I will add some glue as others have suggested to make them a little less brittle (the only reason I didn't give 5 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I just received this recipe as an email from the McCormick site and they have that you can bake them at 200F for about 2 1/2 hours. They harden up nicely and you don't have to wait days to decorate them. Good recipe though :) 2008/12/6: I just tried to take them off the cookie sheet and they all stuck and broke :( gonna make them again but this time I'll put them on parchment paper Just made these today. Very easy to make, very sticky though. I just put them on a cookie sheet and there stuck so once there cooled I'll have to see what I can do to take then off. The only thing I didn't like about making this was the overwhelming sent of cinnamon in my house, at first it was nice but after baking for 2hrs WOW very strong. Still though the kids are looking forward to painting them tomorrow. Dec 5,2009: Just took them out today and they still smell nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This were so cute on the tree last year. My kids and I enjoyed making them and the house smelled wonderful for days! My only complaint with them is that they are so fragile that there wasn't any use trying to save them for this year. That's ok though. They were easy to do, cheap, and beautiful. They'll be a yearly tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
it was good made my house smell WAY too much like cinnamon so much that it made me sick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These smelled good while baking and for a short time afterwards, but not as long as I had hoped. A bit too much prep and work for the payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was easy, accurate, and the ornaments turned out so beautifully! They were old-fashioned and easy to paint with acrylics. I baked them at 250 degrees for 2 1/2 hours and they came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarmonyStar111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
my son had made these ornaments about 6 years ago at school...I had no idea what they were made of & that it was so easy. They still smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States