Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Just made these with the kids last night! They were too soft to use cookie cutters on and transfer to a pan, even after adding glue, so I added flour. I did this before reading that people add more cinnamon to make them easier to handle. But the flour did the trick! They look beautiful and easy for my 4 and 7 year old to paint with acrylics. Such an EASY project. As for prep time..hardly any at all. We will make this an annual project.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I love this idea! I made my first batch, but I'm wondering how to keep it from getting so sticky after setting a few minutes??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I did add 1T of elmers glue to the mix as some reviewers suggested..these were for my 3 year olds in Sunday school to decorate. Worked great and the kids loved them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Thank You so much. The kids had a great time making these. I ran out of wax paper so I used a clean garbage bag; rolled the dough inside, cut the sides open and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
They turned out great and the kids enjoyed making them! Also, once they are fully dried, they can be coloured on with crayons which was great for the little ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We dry ours in a dehydrator for a few hours and we buy our cinn at Winco in the bulk section. a pound cost us about $2.oo. Drying them this way makes your house smeill soooo good. The smells lingers for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My daughter loved making these. They are easy and really kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very easy to make. I scaled mine to 2 cups cinnamon and two cups applesauce since I didn't want to make that many. This amount filled a large cookie sheet. Rolled between 2 wax papers using a jar of spaghetti sauce because I couldn't find my rolling pin. Made them a bit thicker to almost 1/2". Used a straw to punch hole. Baked on parchment paper at 200 for 2 hours. Wish I had turned them over midway since the tops were dry but the bottoms still had damp spots but it wasn't a big deal. Next time I will take another reviewers suggestion and bake on parchment lined cookie sheet for an hour then transfer directly to the oven rack itself for another hour to an hour and a half. Will make again next year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
So much fun and great gift tags!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a must,my preschool class makes them every year.They also last for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolyn29702

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States