Scarlett's Chicken Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I made this very similar to the original recipe and it was fantastic. Very flavorful but not overwhelming! I didn't use mushrooms because I don't like them, I added additional garlic (3 small cloves total), and added diced red pepper in addition to the green pepper to up the veggies. I also didn't have parsley so I didn't use any. It got the seal of approval from my husband although I think he would prefer whole wheat spaghetti noodles over egg noodles. I will definitely make this again though and may add zucchini like another reviewer or even grated carrots just to get more veggies in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as it is written, except added one extra bottle of Emeril's Marinara Sauce, as we like lots of sauce. It was easy & so delicious! It looked pretty too. Nice to dip garlic bread into. Served it with lightly buttered green beans on the side & the garlic toast. I highly recommend this recipe! Five Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent! Easy to prepare and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I really liked this recipe! I used a little bit more garlic and added some tomato paste to thicken it up. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cass
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Used a little more garlic and added a half-cup of red wine. Used a mix of red and green pepper (just because I had it). Floured the chicken before searing, too. Very good, and leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My hubby made this dish on a night when I was just out of ideas and had no desire to cook. He follows recipes exactly so I know that he did nothing to alter this one except he used diced tomatoes rather than the crushed Italian style tomatoes - that's all we had on hand. It was so delicious that we decided that we can serve this to our very "discerning" guests as well. With hubby cooking and not totally acquainted with the kitchen, he started from scratch and we had dinner 1 1/2 hrs later!!! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I just made this recipe tonight and followed the recipe exactly except I used linguine noodles instead of egg as I was out of those. While the flavor was good, the dish came out much too watery. Perhaps drained tomatoes would have been better or maybe adding some tomato paste? I did simmer the sauce longer trying to get it to thicken a bit, but it did not. I will fix this again but will have to make some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
this was delicious!!!A keeper and will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
EXCELLENT! Used more peppers (a variety of colors), onions and garlic than called for. Also added in some crushed pepper flakes for a little kick. While it was simmering, I noticed it was a little thick, so I just added in a little water and that made it the perfect consistancy. I could'nt find the 'Italian-style crushed tomatoes', so I just used crushed tomatoes w/ basil. I used less Italian seasoning and no dried basil (personal preference). This smelled amazing while it was cooking and made for an easy and delicious dinner. Will def be using this recipe again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This was excellent! All I did was add more tomatoes and use red peppers instead of green. I loved it, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States