Scarlett's Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My family loved these! Don't make the mistake I did, though, and let the butter get too soft before creaming with the sugars and oil. My batter was too thin and sticky to form well, and the pretty pattern I pressed before baking disappeared during baking. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
these really are the best ever sugar cookies! i had run out of oil, so i substituted mayo which may sound strange, but mayo is whipped oil, after all. anyway, i dipped them in colored sugar before pressing. i'm sure these will be most popular on my holiday cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
These have a wonderful flavor and do melt in your mouth but they were oily and spread wayy out. Next time I will try as one reviewer did and lessen the oil and increase the sugar.. the consistency is too thin and oily. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Remind me of chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate chips!!!!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very nice! I didn't have any cream of tartar so I just added about a teaspoon of lemon juice at the same time as I added the vanilla. Definitely flatten these cookies unless you like tall, fat cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Absolutely perfect hard sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
your right,they do indeed melt in your mouth ;) and my brother cant get enough of them,and my dad absaalutly loves the cookies :]]] good job on the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe to the letter, but these cookies tasted a bit "soda-y" and "floury". I was told later that perhaps I should have substituted the baking soda for baking powder, but didn't want to deviate from the recipe. Also, the cookies were very much like Pecan Sandies, the taste, texture, and level of sweetness. Perhaps this recipe should be renamed accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Perfect. Just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheldyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I just finished making these cookies. They are very good but just a little bland. I think next time I will decrease the oil a little bit and increase the sugar just a little like some others said that they did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States