Scandinavian Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Tasted very eggy. I love almond flavored things, but this wasn't very good. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I made this with trepidation due to some comments as to its not being sweet enough. However, I followed instructions anyway with only one exception - I used soya margarine instead of butter. What a great dessert! Great presentation, fantastic taste, with a nice custardy filling. The icing provides a perfect balance of sweetness. It's the first time I've seen people take second and third helpings of a dessert. I'll be making this again soon. So will two of my guests. Worth 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I made this for my father-in-law's birthday because he's not a fan of traditional cake. It looked and smelled delicious! All of my in-laws loved it, but it wasn't sweet enough for me at all (that's why it only got 4 stars). Also, mine didn't come out in a marzipan texture like another review mentioned, so perhaps I over cooked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
My mother used to make this recipe. It's great! I made it into two long strips so that it was easier to serve and it seemed to feed more people. I needed to reduce the cooking time by about 15 min. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
just made the lemon version and brought to my office. it was a huge hit. I added a little more lemon juice to the glaze and a little salt to cut the sweetness. truly a wonderful recipe. make sure to let topping cool down a little before adding eggs, otherwise the eggs will scramble. can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARKRAZI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is fantastic! Everyone raved about it. Tastes like it's more difficult to make than it actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
excellent! I might increase the amount of the upper pastry part to get more of the more custard-y part, although I don't know if that would work well. The ingredients say 1 tbsp butter in the glaze, the instructions say 2 -- I used 1.5 and it was perfect. Super easy, not too sweet, and great-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
This is the exact same recipe I found in an old cookbook. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
A "major" keeper of a recipe! The cream puff topping, truly did bake into a marzipan like custard. This morning, two happy tummies enjoyed Scandinavian Almond Puff as a hedonistic, mid-week breakfast, with strong cups of coffee---and 6 friends at work will be indulging within the hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States