Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I got A LOT of compliments on these cookies and they were super easy to make and smelled and looked yummy! (Personally, I'm not sure on taste since I'm dieting and didn't sample). I'm only giving them a 4 however. The glaze was extremely watery. I had to add much more sugar than the recipe called for to thicken it to get it to a better consistency to work with. As a result, also had to add more almond extract (that's okay though, we LOVE almond flavor). I think in the future, I'll need to start with 1 Tb milk and keep adding until desired consistency is reached. Also, the bars should be refrigerated to help set the glaze and keep them tasting fresher longer so they don't taste stale. Aside from that, I think I found my Christmas Cookie Exchange Recipe for this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
A very nice cookie indeed. I made them for my mother. She is in a home because of a broken hip at this time. My mother grewup poor and has done or knows about everything to make and not buy at the store. She liked thedes and that is all that matters to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Easy to make. I divided it into three batches so they were thicker (although I also ate a lot of the dough). These are very elegant and much easier to make than appears. I left off the icing, as I found they were sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love almonds and this had the flavor and taste. It seems like no one mention how sticky and messy it was rolling the dough out was though. I didn't really like that part. Of course, brushing them off with milk does flatten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Oh my gosh! These cookies are simply delicious! One of my family's favorite flavors is almond and these are amazing. Light, crisp yet tender, and so almondy (probably not a word). :) I needed one more batch of cookies for Christmas cookie trays and thought I'd be adventurous and try something new. So glad I picked these. They will now be added to my list of favorite cookies to make for the Holidays. Thank you so much for sharing your family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I wanted to try this because my husbands family is swedish. I added an extra 1/2 tsp of almond extract to the batter and rolled them out on parchment paper and then transfered to cookie sheet. They came out so good I will be making these every year for my cookie tray
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Excellent! I sliced and re-baked mine... like biscotti. In order to get some almond slices to stick on them I thickened the icing and drizzled it across. They couldn't have been any better! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Napanee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
After reading the reviews, I didn't roll them out as thin and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Used it like graham crackers for a cherry pie crust and it was awesome! A perfect balance of sweets and flavors. As a cookie though -- I thought they were a little dry and really couldn't make up my mind if I liked them or not. My husband really liked them. He generally doesn't like sweets, where I do, so my guess is how people will like these is up to that. Oh, and they were very fast and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBOMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Great cookie and sooo easy to make once you tweak the recipe to your taste. I doubled the almond extract on my second batch because there was not enough almond flavor. I also left off the glaze, which I found made them much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States