Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wonderful! These were not only amazing to eat, but they also smelled terrific. I doubled the almond extract (I LOVE the smell/taste of almonds...so if you're a big almond fan, I recommend this) and ended up adding an extra egg because my dough wasn't moist enough. This gave the cookies an even lighter consistancy and REALLY made them melt in your mouth. I will be making these again soon...thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe! I've been to two cookie parties in the past week and these cookies were a huge hit. I use the following ways to cut down on clean-up. I use parchment paper, a rolling pin, a pizza cutter and a 3x5 index card. Wrap a piece of parchment paper around the log. Roll flat with the rolling pin. A 3x5 index card makes a nice tool for measuring width. Sprinkle almonds onto dough, press down into dough with parchemnt paper. Bake on parchement paper and voila! no clean-up. TEN minutes after removing from oven, use pizza cutter to cut strips into diagonals. Use a good quality ziplock bag to ice cookies. Put icing in bag, press out air, close and cut a TEENY hole in one corner. Again, no clean-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEHEM513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
These were so easy, and SO good. They were a hit at my brother's birthday party and disappeared pretty quickly. I used 3/4 cup of Trader Joe's Almond Meal in place of 3/4 cup the flour to give it more of an almond flavor. I also doubled the amount of almond extract in the cookies and in the icing. Mmmm almondy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I found this recipe a while back in a cookbook and made it as part of my Christmas baking. Everybody always raved about it. This year I had moved and packed away my recipes so I couldn't make it. Fortunately, I found this recipe again and can make it for next year (if I still haven't unpacked my other recipes!). Thanks Marji for providing this great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I'm afraid I'm going to be the odd ball here but I found these to be a bit boring even after glazing them. Plus you have to eat them the first day or so because the get stale VERY FAST! Wouldn't bother with them again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zpoiled1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I make these cookies every year to give as part of my Christmas cookie tin gifts. Everyone loves them and asks for the recipe. They are one of my daugthers favorites as well and making them at Christmas has become a tradition for us. Thanks Marji for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I have made these bars twice now and both times I have been disappointed. Although the flavour is nice, I find that the bars turn out with an almost raw like texture even with baking longer than stated. I dont think I will add this to my favourites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Thanks, Marji. This is a great recipe. My only change was to up the almond extract by 1/4 tsp. in both the dough and the icing (because I really like a pronounced almond flavor), & since I didn't have slivered almonds, I used crushed toasted unblanched almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Marji, THANK YOU! You have brought a very happy memory to life and, if my Norwegian grandmother (who died 30 years ago today, not realizing her dream of making me a baker) were alive, she'd be doing handstands (at the ripe age of 115). I finally made some MARVELOUS cookies (so marvelous that I forgot to make the icing!)! The icing on the cake (no pun intended) is that they were a staple of our Norwegian family, and just the very first recipe that my grandmother tried to teach me. Thank you for the melt-in-your-mouth. almost marzipan, recipe. This will become a regular in our household (even without the nuts, which hubby can't eat -- I made half with and half without almonds). An added plus is that my Canadian-Irish hubby said that they were "sex in a cookie". I had to put them away so that there would be some left for tomorrow. Mange takk, Marji!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Mmmm, these are SO good! Absurdly easy to make, and they are just delicious - chewy, light, not overly-sweet. I didn't even bother with the drizzle; they were fabulous without. I will definitely be adding this to (my very limited) Thanksgiving/Christmas cookie 'collection.' Thanks so much, Marji!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States