Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
These take a little bit of time to make and I made quite a mess with the glaze, but they are delicious and quite addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Wow! I can't believe how amazing these turned out! They are soft the first day, hard the next and oh so good. I doubled the almond extract and skipped the glazing and they were perfect- not too sweet. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I'm afraid I'm going to be the odd ball here but I found these to be a bit boring even after glazing them. Plus you have to eat them the first day or so because the get stale VERY FAST! Wouldn't bother with them again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zpoiled1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I've made these cookies for many years. My original recipe was from Better Homes and Gardens, but I somehow lost it. I also use about 1/2 cup Trader Joe's almond meal when I have it and bake the cookies only about 10 minutes. I think they are best when they are slightly underdone and have a softer consistency, reminiscent of marzipan. I have never taken them anywhere where people have not clammered for the recipe. I also think they may be better the day they are made, but I have never had them last longer. A 10 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I am so glad to have found this recipe. I had it for a few yrs, then in my move it got "lost".. The original was in Taste of Home magazine. Being of Scandinavian descent, almonds are so popular & well used in baking..these always go over well with the family. I decorate up containers and give as xmas gifts.. I used parchment paper on the cookie sheets which made them easy to manuever off the cookie sheets... thank you thank you for posting this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I found this recipe in my very first Taste of Home issue, many years ago, and it's one of our favorites. The cookies have a wonderful flavor. And they're pretty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
these are so deliciouse. at first they were sticky so i added flour. then realized if i let them sit they would stiffin on thier own so i could roll it. i really cannot stop eating these so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
These were so easy, and SO good. They were a hit at my brother's birthday party and disappeared pretty quickly. I used 3/4 cup of Trader Joe's Almond Meal in place of 3/4 cup the flour to give it more of an almond flavor. I also doubled the amount of almond extract in the cookies and in the icing. Mmmm almondy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
loved them!!! wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
my husband made them for me and we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States