Scampi-Style Scallops Over Linguine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
It is delicate in taste so if you are looking for an extreme flavor profile you won't get it here. This is perfect for scallops as nothing overpowers the scallops. It was also very quick to make, that I appreciate always. I made as the recipe states but added another measurement of wine and garlic, skipped the salt and pepper. Also, if you are not used to cooking with white wine, whatever you choose will absolutely alter the flavor. Pick something that you like to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I give the recipe 5 stars because the submitter said this was a starting point and I believe she is right. The scallops I had to work with weren't the highest quality but that isn't her fault. The dish lacked that punch of flavor I thought it would have. I felt if I hadn't followed the recipe to a T but had thrown in some more wine, garlic. That some more something my taste buds were waiting for, it would have been really good. It is a great starting point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Sorry, this was just not good in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Bowen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Naples, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was ok. It was pretty bland. We had to add a lot of salt and pepper at the table. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a delicious dish. However, when you make it, oh the anchovies really smelled strong. But once you get passed that, your good to go. Everyone in the family loved it. (p.s. I love anchovies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jallese
Home Town: Boca Grande, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Once again, all recipes saved the day! This was easy and delicious. My children even ate seconds and thirds. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
So sorry, but this dish was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I thought it was really good. I added a little extra onion and garlic and sauted them together w/ the anchovies. I also added a little extra wine and thickened the sauce with cornstarch. My husband suggested adding a diced fresh tomato next time around. Excellent base seafood recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
We really liked this, and found it to be a very nice, quick meal. Kids age 10, 7 and 4 all loved it. We all agreed that we would like it to have more sauce next time, so I will double that part. My pasta drank up all of the sauce, but it was so delicious, I don't blame that pasta! I made it as written, and didn't add the salt and pepper. I know many people will leave out the anchovies, but that is really the key to the flavor of this dish. I don't tell my kids about it until they are loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Lighten up on anchovies a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States