Scallops with White Wine Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe was awesome! I doubled the amount of sauce and just used a mayan onion I had in the house. I cooked the scallops write in the pan with the sauce, then added linguine, a package of baby spinache, and feta cheese. I covered it for a few minutes to wilt down the spinache, added a little crushed red pepper, gave it a toss, and it was to die for! My husband says best thing I've ever made, so will definitely make it again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was very good and I suspect not only for scallops but for any seafood. I doubled the sauce and will use it again. Very happy with the amount of tartness for the sauce. Did not have any shallots on hand and it was too cold to go get one, so I used red onion and some extra garlic instead. Well done recipe. I used some blackening seasoning on the scallops with some garlic pepper and pan seared mine in a bit of olive oil and butter. This will be made again in my home w/o question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
This sauce was totally delectable. I literally licked the pan when done! I used Chardonnay wine and added an extra garlic glove to the sauce. My scallops were huge, so I had to broil them about 4 minutes per side. I served them alongside crabcakes, green beans and a cucumber and tomato salad tossed with olive oil and red wine vinegar. Awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Thanx to the many great reviews/suggestions, mine came out perfect. I doubled the recipe, I used onion instead of shallots, I used Chardonnay (reducing it first before adding the rest of the ingredients), and did not broil the scallops - I cooked them in the sauce. PERFECT! It was very very good. Served with angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
excellent recipe! i read through the other reviews before trying it, and found good advice re: doubling the sauce, cooking the scallops in the skillet with the sauce, and reducing the white wine before adding the other ingredients. i used a very dry white Italian table wine which gave the sauce a lovely, subtle, piquant flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I just started cooking and I tried this on Valentine's day of 2006 and it was the biggest hit I've had so far. Since then I make it every couple weeks. It is our favorite way to make scallops and you won't find a better sauce in any restaurant. Plus, I use the sauce for other fish recipes too. If you're conscious of calories and fat- Once, I accidentally forgot to add the butter and it was still great. I use margarine anyway. Haven't tried it with real butter yet but I bet it's even better!! You have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. My wife and I were looking for a new way to prepare some scallops we purchased, and this worked great. Not too rich, but flavorful enough to spark us to add it to our regular rotation. We served them over a bed of angel hair pasta, and with a fresh mixed greens salad w/ balsamic vinagrette. A great combination. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
We enjoyed this, but for me it was just too much wine, overpowering. Next time I will adjust this more to our taste, more butter, less wine, more shallots. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was excellent. We made if for our New Year's Eve dinner and weren't disappointed. We ate it over fettucine noodles. Thanks so much for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I was looking for a great light sauce to mix with pasta and this recipe was great! I just used the sauce recipe, but am going to try it with scallops next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States