Scallops with White Wine Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
While on vacation in Washington..we wanted to make our favorite McCormick and Schmicks garlic scallops...but we didn't feel like buying all the ingredients. So, we looked up this one and had everything we needed. We doubled the recipe for everything except the lemon and the butter. We stuck with the normal amount of lemon and used about 2/3 of a stick of butter. It came out perfect. We went through a whole loaf of crusty rosemary bread in the process. We had plain old steamed green beans with it, which worked out perfect as well. This recipe is terrific. It's got the perfect amount of richness and the nice tang from the lemon. We got 14 good sized scallops and wished we had more. This is a perfect holiday meal. We may make this again X-mas eve as we always have seafood that night. Really easy to make..the most time consuming part is chopping the garlic and shallots. Oh...we did use about 4 cloves of garlic..so we put in 4x the amount of that...and more wouldn't have hurt...heck..more shallots or even some chipolini onions wouldnt hurt either. World class recipe here...restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very nice sauce, I'll be making this again for sure!! The lemon in the recipe really stands out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I just made this for dinner, but used shrimp instead of scallops since that was what I had on hand. I also left out the lemon juice since I didn't have any in the house. I served it over rotini and it was absolutely delicious! Next time I might add more garlic just because I LOVE garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I gotta say, that was kinda bland for me. I was surprised given all the rave reviews. I followed the recipe exactly except that I doubled the sauce like people suggested, then pan seared the scallops before cooking them in the sauce. Maybe I didn't reduce it enough, but it just didn't have a lot of flavor for me. I'll try it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was too lazy to go to the store for a lemon, so I tossed in a small splash of distilled vinegar for acidity. Also, I pan seared the scallops. This dish was great and went over wonderfully with my wife. I always try to cook something nice when we watch Monday cooking shows. I can't wait to do it again with the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
LOVED the sauce, I was licking the plate afterward. I would definitely recommend this to anyone and will try the sauce with other types of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyRenee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I can't believe so many people have sad it's great :(( it's just aweful the way to much lemon! Even if u reduce it by third..taste like ah... Sorry for the autor and his/her taste. :(( just wasted the ingredients :(( did everything exactly the same as written... :((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We double the sauce, then use it over angel hair pasta with salmon. I saute the salmon with lemon pepper, then flake it onto the pasta. I also add sauted sliced mushrooms and halved grape tomatoes. Wonderful, simple sauce, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was so good! I placed some fresh spinach in the sauce, right before serving. It was marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States