Scallops with White Wine Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We just had this for dinner tonight. Like other reviewers, I also made more sauce for pasta. Maybe I put in too much lemon juice. My sauce came out to be very tart. I needed to add sugar to balance it off. Next time, I will try to use clam juice instead of chicken broth to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Made this for dinner tonight. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
As it was Good Friday last week, I decided to be brave and try to make scallops myself instead of buying something from a restaurant. This recipe looked good and I made a few modifications to it. I added sliced portabella mushrooms, and used a red onion instead (as my store didn't have the proper onions called for in the recipe). I also took someone else's advice and cooked the scallops in the pan with the sauce and put it over linguine. Well although the recipe looked and smelled great, it was way too sweet for me. And I used a dry chardonnay for my wine. Don't think that I will use this again. But if you like sweet, this recipe might be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I add an entire sliced shallot and 6 sliced garlic cloves and half the amount of butter. 4 tbls made the sauce too buttery in my opinion. Other then that it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New York, USA
Living In: Newport Coast, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent!! Restaurant quality meal at home. It is very quick and easy to prepare. Add a baked potato and roasted asparagus and WOW you friends and family> :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Served with asparagus and herbed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was great! The only change I made was to put papkrika on the scallops when broiling and use pam instead of olive oil. This is a very good franchaise-style sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a great light meal. I followed the recipe but them got a little creative and added a bottle of clam juice to the "broth" mixture. I served it on ngel hair pasta. It came out nicely. I will try it again without the clam juice just to taste the differnce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUBEAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I doubled the recipe and serve over angle hair pasta as others suggested. I made this for dinner tonight with a combo of shrimp and scallops, onion instead of shallot, and I used lemon juice (3 tbs from my little yellow plastic lemon) instead of juice from a fresh lemon. This was out of this world! Yes, the wine sauce was thin but the flavor sure wasn't. You just need to be sure you use enough sauce to get the full flavor of it. I am going to make this again only I am going to adjust one more time so I have more sauce. I think 4x would do a lb. of angel hair pasta nicely. I may cut the butter down as some suggested due to diet restrictions. I just hope it doesn't ruin the taste of it as it is perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The flavor of this sauce was really good, and probably would've been perfect had I just served it over scallops as was intended. However, I tried doubling the recipe and serving over pasta as well, as some suggested, and was not pleased. Too thin as a pasta sauce, I think, but great on scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephciar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States