Scallops with Roasted Garlic Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
It needs a thickening agent, the sauce is too runny. Maybe some flour or cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I love the cooking style for the scallops and the sauce is quite good. Unfortunately, I haven't quite mastered the sauce yet after 2 attempts (my fault for not following the directions!) although I am close! The first time I used an elephant garlic bulb which didn't roast up to the needed paste-like consistency. It yielded a good flavor but was very stringy and I had to strain most of it from the sauce. The taste was still good, but I ended up making more work for myself! Tonight, I used a regular garlic bulb which roasted perfectly but I used half and half instead of heavy cream. Even after adding corn starch and flour it still didn't thicken to where i wanted it so I was a bit bummed but the flavor was still good. We'd also cooked some halibut and the sauce went nicely with that as well. I even saw one of my guests soaking up the last bits with her bread :). Next time, I'm following the recipe as written and I'm sure it will be outstanding. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My husband doesn't like scallops but I make this sauce with shrimp over smoked mozzarella ravioli and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The sauce was runny, but that's easily fixed. I also like the fact that with this recipe you can get creative and add additional things, like risotto,lots more of yummy veggies like spinach, cabbage, chopped zucchini, and capers, ripe olives. Mmmm Yummy! Get in my belly! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlogZilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this tonight with canned crabmeat. Used minced garlic and half and half. Very quick and tasty, will use again for a fast meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Love this recipe. By mistake I had added the cream to the broth before reducing. The second time I followed the directions, but liked the sharper taste from the mistake. Have since continued that way, and been adding enough white sauce to extend and thicken. Any recommendations on which kind of garlic works best here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I thought this was definitly a keeper! Only changed one thing. The sauce did have to be thickened, and I did so with butter and flour. Did it separatly then added it to the Garlic Cream Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena-stay at home mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watsonville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This recipe was sooo delicious! I doubled it and even added in the 4oz of cream with the cornstarch but I still had to simmer for quite a while to get it to thicken. No problem though - just will remember it for next time. :o) Other than that it was fab and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenhawk9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was a very good sauce! I made a vegetarian version of it, using veg stock...substituted fresh basil for parsley, and added a little parmesan to thicken it (since I only had milk). I whisked in a tbsn of butter at the end to finish the sauce and served it over artichoke ravioli...complete with sauteed asparagus and artichokes! Seriously, by far the best way I've ever roasted garlic...turned out perfect! Thank you for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I do apologize for the recipe being runny. I am going to try to edit it if they'll let me because I forgot to add in the directions that if the sauce turns out runny, add about a Tbs of cornstarch in about 4 oz of milk or cream and stir until completely dissolved and add the cream mixture on stove. Bring to a boil and immediately turn heat on low or off. sauce will thicken after a minute or so. Thank you all for your reviews. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States