Scallops Provencale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I absolutely Loved this!! I only changed butter to olive oil. It was delicious! I sprinkled a little parm on top!! Rave reviews from the family! ;) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Angel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was very good - but as everyone stated, only served 4 people. I only made 3 small changes: Subbed tomato sauce for ketchup, omitted the tarragon/rosemary(don't like them), and I also evened out the scallop to shrimp ratio (.5lb each) because that was what I had. I made a bigger change in using uncooked frozen shrimp, which I browned after browning the scallops (instead of adding them later). Next time I will only brown for a few minutes each side and not cook through, as they both got a little dried out. But overall - delicious! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Just passable for us. Left out the vinegar and used a nice Tuscan seasoning blend for the rosemary and tarragon. The whole tomato/onion/mushroom/herbs thing was just too much going on for the mild and delicate shrimp and scallops, and they kind of got "lost in the show." Also, didn't care for the small, cooked shrimp. Would have liked to have seen larger, chunkier pieces. Served this with Sarah's Rice Pilaf but it was just a ho-hum meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Was quite a bit juicier than I'd anticipated, so I would have served it with a rice dish, but otherwise this was a hit with the entire family and tasted amazing! I did use the smaller bay scallops, thawed and drained, instead and I used ghee (clarified butter) because of food allergies. We had this as a side dish with steaks and fresh corn on the cob...was absolutely excellent! Update: makes even better leftovers with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsChristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
A great recipe - bookmarking for serving to guests. We didn't have access to sea scallops and had to use a smaller frozen variety, but it turned out fantastic anyway. (We did use larger shrimp to compensate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
very good, used shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My husband called this one of my best recipes yet! I made a few changes: Substituted 1/4 cup Italian dressing for the wine; substituted 2 tbsp tomato paste and 1/4 cup water for the ketchup; skipped the tarragon and vinegar. I served it over spaghetti, and it is definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Great recipe! I think next time i will have to add more colour (asparagus perhaps) and a little bit more spice. Other than that, this is a wonderfull tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mujo77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Very good, I changed it up a bit and used tomato sauce instead of ketchup and added italian seasoning mix. I served it with grilled zuchini and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States