Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I liked the recipe however I will try it with low-fat cream cheese next time being as the calorie and fat content of the mascarpone cheese is very high. I I think the splash of white wine in the sauce would also make it little more flavorful. I served it with homemade pasta and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wow was this tasty !!! Easy to make too. The only changes I made were using Tilapia instead of scallops (not a fan) and changed out the asparagus to red and yellow peppers. Scrumptious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
4 stars instead of 5 only because the 6 T. of butter called for is excessive, especially with additional butter in the sauce. I used just 2 T olive oil and 1 T butter, which was plenty and still flavorful. Otherwise, this is a FABULOUS recipe!! It's easy to prepare, and it is a great mix of color and texture. The idea of using mascarpone cheese in a sauce was new to me, and is what caught my eye. It makes a creamy sauce that is rich, yet light -- brilliant! This recipe is a keeper -- it would be wonderful to make with other seafood, or even chicken or ham. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Andy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday. I'd never made scallops before, but the recipe was super easy, and he LOVED it!. If you have a Trader Joes in your area, I highly recommend using their Fresh cut & ready Diced Onions, Garlic & Shallots instead of just garlic. I also used the larger Sea Scallops, not bay scallops. I'm sure it would have been delish either way. This recipe will definitely get be used again at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Halved the olive oil, butter, and pasta. Increased scallops to 1.5 lbs. Used baby bella mushrooms. Subbed neuchetel for mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe was just ok. Like everyone else I made adjustments also with the masacapone I also added 4oz cream cheese, a little more onion power. I also added a tsp of garlic powder and a tbs old bay. Lastly I decided to use orzo pasta and omit the parsley just because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Superb. All of the ingredients blend together so well. I prepared this as written with two minor alterations. I cooked the scallops in the butter sauce prior to cooking the asparagus and mushrooms as I didn't have a pan large enough to add the scallops after the veggies and hope to brown them. Just not enough room in my pans. And, it turned out very well. Also, I cut back about a third on the pasta. I will say that the mascarpone cheese is a MUST for the full effect of the blend. You really must try all you can to find some. It comes out very buttery and the recipe's main ingredients are each naturally complemented by butter. Without a doubt the best scallop dish I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by asher24601
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Had some scallops in the freezer and needed a recipe. I was not disappointed in the slightest! My husband had three helpings. I followed the recipe almost exactly (except I used veggie rotini), because that's what I do when I first try one out. Tonight I'm making it again because my husband is asking for it and the only thing I plan on changing is adding a little more garlic and maybe dicing fresh onion instead of using the powder. Olive Garden eat your heart out, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asher24601

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A new household favorite. Looking forward to making it again. The recipe is so versatile that you could add other veggies or meats (but I do LOVE the scallops and asparagus). I cook gluten free, so made it with gf angle hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Amazingly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States