Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer Chandler
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I made this and substituted spinach for asparagus because that's what I had that needed to be used. overall turned out great! very yummy. it's on the richer side due to the mascarpone so I definitely recommend using milk not cream. you could even add a little chicken stock to thin it out if needed. I would also use more garlic than is called for, and even sprinkle a little garlic salt in too if it still needs more flavor. overall great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Naomiful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Followed the recipe for the most part. Used bow tie pasta and whole milk to be specific. Found the Mascarpone cheese at Trader Joes. Scallops came fresh from the ocean the day before :) Could have used more onion powder. Also cooked the scallops separately. Found the dish to be creamy delicious, and definitely hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I had an almost full tub of mascarpone hence why I made this recipe. I always read the reviews before making any dish on this great site. Most people loved this and didn't change a thing so I jumped right in. I thought while making it, it was going to be a little flat in the flavour departm but it really didn't disappoint! We loved it! Only change was adding onion instead of onion power and reduced the amount of pasta as suggested by May reviewers and made it with angel hair pasta. Will make again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I liked the recipe however I will try it with low-fat cream cheese next time being as the calorie and fat content of the mascarpone cheese is very high. I I think the splash of white wine in the sauce would also make it little more flavorful. I served it with homemade pasta and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wow was this tasty !!! Easy to make too. The only changes I made were using Tilapia instead of scallops (not a fan) and changed out the asparagus to red and yellow peppers. Scrumptious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
4 stars instead of 5 only because the 6 T. of butter called for is excessive, especially with additional butter in the sauce. I used just 2 T olive oil and 1 T butter, which was plenty and still flavorful. Otherwise, this is a FABULOUS recipe!! It's easy to prepare, and it is a great mix of color and texture. The idea of using mascarpone cheese in a sauce was new to me, and is what caught my eye. It makes a creamy sauce that is rich, yet light -- brilliant! This recipe is a keeper -- it would be wonderful to make with other seafood, or even chicken or ham. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Andy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday. I'd never made scallops before, but the recipe was super easy, and he LOVED it!. If you have a Trader Joes in your area, I highly recommend using their Fresh cut & ready Diced Onions, Garlic & Shallots instead of just garlic. I also used the larger Sea Scallops, not bay scallops. I'm sure it would have been delish either way. This recipe will definitely get be used again at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Halved the olive oil, butter, and pasta. Increased scallops to 1.5 lbs. Used baby bella mushrooms. Subbed neuchetel for mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe was just ok. Like everyone else I made adjustments also with the masacapone I also added 4oz cream cheese, a little more onion power. I also added a tsp of garlic powder and a tbs old bay. Lastly I decided to use orzo pasta and omit the parsley just because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Superb. All of the ingredients blend together so well. I prepared this as written with two minor alterations. I cooked the scallops in the butter sauce prior to cooking the asparagus and mushrooms as I didn't have a pan large enough to add the scallops after the veggies and hope to brown them. Just not enough room in my pans. And, it turned out very well. Also, I cut back about a third on the pasta. I will say that the mascarpone cheese is a MUST for the full effect of the blend. You really must try all you can to find some. It comes out very buttery and the recipe's main ingredients are each naturally complemented by butter. Without a doubt the best scallop dish I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States