Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Naomiful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Followed the recipe for the most part. Used bow tie pasta and whole milk to be specific. Found the Mascarpone cheese at Trader Joes. Scallops came fresh from the ocean the day before :) Could have used more onion powder. Also cooked the scallops separately. Found the dish to be creamy delicious, and definitely hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I had an almost full tub of mascarpone hence why I made this recipe. I always read the reviews before making any dish on this great site. Most people loved this and didn't change a thing so I jumped right in. I thought while making it, it was going to be a little flat in the flavour departm but it really didn't disappoint! We loved it! Only change was adding onion instead of onion power and reduced the amount of pasta as suggested by May reviewers and made it with angel hair pasta. Will make again and again! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I liked the recipe however I will try it with low-fat cream cheese next time being as the calorie and fat content of the mascarpone cheese is very high. I I think the splash of white wine in the sauce would also make it little more flavorful. I served it with homemade pasta and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Wow was this tasty !!! Easy to make too. The only changes I made were using Tilapia instead of scallops (not a fan) and changed out the asparagus to red and yellow peppers. Scrumptious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
4 stars instead of 5 only because the 6 T. of butter called for is excessive, especially with additional butter in the sauce. I used just 2 T olive oil and 1 T butter, which was plenty and still flavorful. Otherwise, this is a FABULOUS recipe!! It's easy to prepare, and it is a great mix of color and texture. The idea of using mascarpone cheese in a sauce was new to me, and is what caught my eye. It makes a creamy sauce that is rich, yet light -- brilliant! This recipe is a keeper -- it would be wonderful to make with other seafood, or even chicken or ham. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Andy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my husbands birthday. I'd never made scallops before, but the recipe was super easy, and he LOVED it!. If you have a Trader Joes in your area, I highly recommend using their Fresh cut & ready Diced Onions, Garlic & Shallots instead of just garlic. I also used the larger Sea Scallops, not bay scallops. I'm sure it would have been delish either way. This recipe will definitely get be used again at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Halved the olive oil, butter, and pasta. Increased scallops to 1.5 lbs. Used baby bella mushrooms. Subbed neuchetel for mascarpone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This recipe was just ok. Like everyone else I made adjustments also with the masacapone I also added 4oz cream cheese, a little more onion power. I also added a tsp of garlic powder and a tbs old bay. Lastly I decided to use orzo pasta and omit the parsley just because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Superb. All of the ingredients blend together so well. I prepared this as written with two minor alterations. I cooked the scallops in the butter sauce prior to cooking the asparagus and mushrooms as I didn't have a pan large enough to add the scallops after the veggies and hope to brown them. Just not enough room in my pans. And, it turned out very well. Also, I cut back about a third on the pasta. I will say that the mascarpone cheese is a MUST for the full effect of the blend. You really must try all you can to find some. It comes out very buttery and the recipe's main ingredients are each naturally complemented by butter. Without a doubt the best scallop dish I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by asher24601
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Had some scallops in the freezer and needed a recipe. I was not disappointed in the slightest! My husband had three helpings. I followed the recipe almost exactly (except I used veggie rotini), because that's what I do when I first try one out. Tonight I'm making it again because my husband is asking for it and the only thing I plan on changing is adding a little more garlic and maybe dicing fresh onion instead of using the powder. Olive Garden eat your heart out, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asher24601

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States