Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I served this recipe to a large group and it was a hugh success. I also made it one day ahead and chilled until ready to bake. I used a sour dough bread and 1/4 cup fresh basil rather than dry. I also sprinkled a parmesan, romano and asiago mixture on top. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was very easy. I used fresh tomatoes and added some minced garlic and topped it with a ton of grated romano. It was a huge hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!! I did read the reviews before making, so used seasoned dry croutons instead of regular bread cubes. Used the tomatoes from my garden. The slightly sweet taste (used a little less brown sugar then called for) is WONDERFUL! This is, definitely, a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
We added a little grated parmesan and shredded mozzarella- we loved it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I honestly had some doubts about this recipe, but it is definetly a keeper! I used olive oil instead of butter, and sprinkled parmesean cheese over the top for the last 10 mintues and the dish got rave reviews. I baked it in a 9 X 9 pan instead of 9 X 13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Delicious! I used Roma tomatoes because they have less pulp in them. I used 6 good sized ones since they are a little smaller than regular tomatoes. Next time, I will use a stouter bread instead of "kids'" bread (Wonder, yuck!), which is all I had on hand. The grated cheese idea sounds good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
This was a very good dish. Different from any way I've fixed tomatoes. I did add more bread than the recipe called for because it seemed smushy when I first mixed it up. I also stirred it some parmesan cheese. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is delicious. The brown sugar plus the tartness and acidity of the tomatoes are wonderful. Tip: Don't cover this dish when you bake it--the bread will be firmer and not so mushy if you leave the dish uncovered. I also add shredded motzarella cheese on top during the last 10 mins of baking. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This was really yummy! The tomatoes have a wonderful flavor - it must be the brown sugar that makes it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I thought it was yummy and different sidedish. It was very tasty eaten with breaded chicken breasts. My Father is a big fan now. But my toddler daughter wouldnt touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States