Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I made this the other night and thought it was really tasty. I cut the suger to about 3 tbs., added garlic (because I just had to!) and used fresh herbs with parm and garlic/herb croutons. I finished it off last night with a little chedder and some guacamole on top. Very tasty!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I honestly had some doubts about this recipe, but it is definetly a keeper! I used olive oil instead of butter, and sprinkled parmesean cheese over the top for the last 10 mintues and the dish got rave reviews. I baked it in a 9 X 9 pan instead of 9 X 13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I baked this in a 9x9 inch square pan. I used 3 hot house tomatoes and a bit more basil.You definitely don't need any butter for this recipe. Saves you alot of calories too. I'm on a diet so I ate mine as dinner. This is great when its hot. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very good flavor. Texture was a bit mushy on the bottom and crispy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This sounded good and looked pretty but I guess I was expecting something else. Baked tomatoes have a little different flavor than raw ones. You taste no sweetness from the brown sugar in this recipe. It might have been better with fresh garden tomatoes instead of ones from the grocery store. I didn’t have a mushiness problem. I used slightly drier bread cubes made from leftover French bread. For assembly I sautéed my onions and butter in the microwave and mixed the spices into the butter and onions. Then the instructions would be better to say to gently fold the tomato slices into the spiced onion mixture to coat. I think firmer tomatoes help too. Then, also gently, fold in the bread cubes to coat. Then, still gently, spread in your baking pan to bake. I made this at noon and baked it for supper. The tomato slices and bread cubes still held up well. I might try adding some parmesan cheese to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This made a very nice side dish. Great when you have extra tomatoes that you need to get rid of. I added a little cheese to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I DOUBLED THE RECIPE, BUT I USED STILL THE SAME AMOUNT OF BUTTER AND 1 ONION FOR A SINGLE BATCH. WE DON'T LIKE ALOT OF ONION FLAVOR. I CUT THE BUTTER TO CUT FAT. IT WORKED REAL GOOD. I SIMMERED ALL INGREDIENTS ON TOP OF THE STOVE. DIDN'T WANT TO HEAT UP THE HOUSE. WORKED GREAT FOR US. THANKS, CATHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!! I did read the reviews before making, so used seasoned dry croutons instead of regular bread cubes. Used the tomatoes from my garden. The slightly sweet taste (used a little less brown sugar then called for) is WONDERFUL! This is, definitely, a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Sorry, but this was tasteless and a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Delicious! I used Roma tomatoes because they have less pulp in them. I used 6 good sized ones since they are a little smaller than regular tomatoes. Next time, I will use a stouter bread instead of "kids'" bread (Wonder, yuck!), which is all I had on hand. The grated cheese idea sounds good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States