Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is delicious. The brown sugar plus the tartness and acidity of the tomatoes are wonderful. Tip: Don't cover this dish when you bake it--the bread will be firmer and not so mushy if you leave the dish uncovered. I also add shredded motzarella cheese on top during the last 10 mins of baking. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been making this for years. My 2 year old grandaughter can't get enough of them. We have to remove them from the table or they are all she will eat. I use part of the butter to dab on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is is! I was looking for something to do with our many tomatoes and found it. My husband loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Lou and I loved this. We use the extra and blended it into a meat sauce and covered home made manicotti too. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My mother made a similar side dish with the same ingredients but cooked it entirely on the stovetop. I liked the fact that the baking thickened the juices slightly and resulted in more of a "pudding." This was wonderful served alongside Chicken Piccata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is a great dish, and it smells WONDERFUL while baking. I used a variety of breads (whole wheat/hotdug bun, etc) and it still tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a such an easy side. We love bruchetta and this tastes like a simpler, one dish way to do it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Tasty, but became a soggy mess once cooked. The texture just wasn't appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe to a tee and used homegrown tomatoes. Though I didn't hear complaints, noone helped themselves to seconds. The end result was soggy, and chewing on tomato peels was bothersome. I will try the recipe again peeling first and using drier bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This was fantastic!!! My son who does not like tomatoes had 3 helpings. This is a KEEPER!!! We can't wait for tomato season to come around again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States