Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This dish is so delicious. My husband went back for seconds and is looking forward to me making it again soon. I didn't have any white bread. So, I used Seasoned Italian Croutons and omitted the salt. I also added some extra tomatoes and topped it with mild cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leda Elia
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Beautiful & wonderful taste! I used 9x13, 7 medium tomatoes, 1 diced zucchini, 7tbsp butter, only 1tsp salt, diced half onion, pepper, 6 tsp brown sugar, 1tsp basil & 4cups diced fresh sourdough bread, and sprinkled Parmesan cheese into the mix and then on top for final few mins in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leda Elia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used tomatoes that I had blanched and froze from last year's garden, and drained most of the juice. I followed the recipe, adding additional brown sugar because we like them sweeter, basil, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. Instead of white bread cubes, I chopped up garlic herb rolls my hubby had bought at the bakery. We loved this and it will be a go-to recipe for our tomatoes this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought this was very good. My mom used to make something similar to this. Probably a dish not everyone would like, but we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really good and a great way to use up old bread and ends of tomatoes. I had extra tops and bottoms along with a slice of ciabatta that worked very well without pre-toasting. Parmesan was added at the baking stage and some mozzarella the last 10 minutes which I would definitely do again. The dish was put together early in the day and refrigerated, but baking it uncovered made a great consistency for us. Thanks for the recipe - we'll use it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this with the last of the cherry tomatoes from our garden. Left out the onions because of an intolerance in the family. I toasted the bread cubes and used gluten free bread. Served with parmesan to sprinkle on at the table because not all of us can eat cheese, and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a very good recipe, but it needed croutons instead of bread. I used garlic flavoured croutons. I added parmesan cheese into the casserole, my husband also suggested adding sauteed boneless, skinless seasoned chicken, which I did the next time, then topped it all with more parmesan cheese & mozzarella cheese. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I make this exactly as written every time and my wife and I love it. She mentions that her mom toasts the bread and adds more sugar, but I always "forget" that when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I loved it. I made it as written. Will try it next time with half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States