Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was so good, I used my own canned tomatoes and crushen them up a little bit. I also used the unseasoned bread stuffing. It was alot easier than cubing up the bread. I took the advice of other reviewers and added garlic and cheese on top. My family loved it, we fought over the last spoon full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is delicious. The brown sugar plus the tartness and acidity of the tomatoes are wonderful. Tip: Don't cover this dish when you bake it--the bread will be firmer and not so mushy if you leave the dish uncovered. I also add shredded motzarella cheese on top during the last 10 mins of baking. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been making this for years. My 2 year old grandaughter can't get enough of them. We have to remove them from the table or they are all she will eat. I use part of the butter to dab on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is is! I was looking for something to do with our many tomatoes and found it. My husband loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Lou and I loved this. We use the extra and blended it into a meat sauce and covered home made manicotti too. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My mother made a similar side dish with the same ingredients but cooked it entirely on the stovetop. I liked the fact that the baking thickened the juices slightly and resulted in more of a "pudding." This was wonderful served alongside Chicken Piccata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is a great dish, and it smells WONDERFUL while baking. I used a variety of breads (whole wheat/hotdug bun, etc) and it still tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is a such an easy side. We love bruchetta and this tastes like a simpler, one dish way to do it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Tasty, but became a soggy mess once cooked. The texture just wasn't appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe to a tee and used homegrown tomatoes. Though I didn't hear complaints, noone helped themselves to seconds. The end result was soggy, and chewing on tomato peels was bothersome. I will try the recipe again peeling first and using drier bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States