Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved this dish. I did add just a little parmesan cheese and mozz. cheese. I will be making this again. This would be real good without the cheese. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I use seasoned croutons for this recipe and layer everything in the casserole dish rather than cooking it on the stove top first --- with home grown tomatoes (especially at THIS time of the year, I have so many to use up!), this is delicious. I layer everything in the casserole dish and then bake it. Mix the salt, pepper, basil, sugar, dried onion, and some garlic powder together, then 1 layer of croutons, 1 layer of tomatoes, sprinkle half of seasoning mixture , 1 layer of croutons, 1 layer of tomatoes, rest of seasoning, 1 layer of croutons), melt the butter and pour over all, then bake. When I have it in the fridge, I also add some fontina and layer that on top of the seasoning. OMG, I'm making this again this evening, I'm hungry just writing about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is a great way to use up tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I added a bit of cheese on top with ten minutes left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I really wasn't sure what to expect from this one, but was intrigued enough to give it a try. I thought the bread (I used a nice Italian bread) did get soggy in parts and that was to be expected, I suppose. I would suggest toasting it beforehand (or going with others' suggestions in using seasoned croutons) but really, as is, it's pretty dang delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IRISHGINA74
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. Yes it was a little mushy on the bottom, but the flavor was so good that I didn't care!!! This was a great way t use up garden tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe. I loved every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I finally found out the secret to perfect pizza sauce, this is it! Actually, its perfect just as it is! I think I added a tsp more of brown sugar. Used olive oil instead of butter. Can't wait to make this again. Probaly costs under $5 to make a batch. Great side dish or if you love tomatoes like me, this is dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Was excited to try this, used fresh tomatoes. But wasn't too happy with the results. Not one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I had a bunch of tomatoes that were "on there way out" and was looking for a way to use them up. This turned out to be a delicious and relatively simple treat. I used wheat bread instead of white, because that's all I had. I cooked the tomatoes in the pan untll they were very soft. I also added about 1/4 cup of shredded mozzerella to the top right before baking. The result was wonderful. It tasted like eggplant parm without the eggplant. I think this would be great served right on top of spaghetti. I'm a vegeterian and this was a great find. I never thought about using tomatoes in this way before, but I will happily make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was so good, I used my own canned tomatoes and crushen them up a little bit. I also used the unseasoned bread stuffing. It was alot easier than cubing up the bread. I took the advice of other reviewers and added garlic and cheese on top. My family loved it, we fought over the last spoon full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States