Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I added a bit of cheese on top with ten minutes left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I really wasn't sure what to expect from this one, but was intrigued enough to give it a try. I thought the bread (I used a nice Italian bread) did get soggy in parts and that was to be expected, I suppose. I would suggest toasting it beforehand (or going with others' suggestions in using seasoned croutons) but really, as is, it's pretty dang delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IRISHGINA74
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. Yes it was a little mushy on the bottom, but the flavor was so good that I didn't care!!! This was a great way t use up garden tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe. I loved every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I finally found out the secret to perfect pizza sauce, this is it! Actually, its perfect just as it is! I think I added a tsp more of brown sugar. Used olive oil instead of butter. Can't wait to make this again. Probaly costs under $5 to make a batch. Great side dish or if you love tomatoes like me, this is dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Was excited to try this, used fresh tomatoes. But wasn't too happy with the results. Not one for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I had a bunch of tomatoes that were "on there way out" and was looking for a way to use them up. This turned out to be a delicious and relatively simple treat. I used wheat bread instead of white, because that's all I had. I cooked the tomatoes in the pan untll they were very soft. I also added about 1/4 cup of shredded mozzerella to the top right before baking. The result was wonderful. It tasted like eggplant parm without the eggplant. I think this would be great served right on top of spaghetti. I'm a vegeterian and this was a great find. I never thought about using tomatoes in this way before, but I will happily make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was so good, I used my own canned tomatoes and crushen them up a little bit. I also used the unseasoned bread stuffing. It was alot easier than cubing up the bread. I took the advice of other reviewers and added garlic and cheese on top. My family loved it, we fought over the last spoon full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensett, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This recipe is delicious. The brown sugar plus the tartness and acidity of the tomatoes are wonderful. Tip: Don't cover this dish when you bake it--the bread will be firmer and not so mushy if you leave the dish uncovered. I also add shredded motzarella cheese on top during the last 10 mins of baking. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have been making this for years. My 2 year old grandaughter can't get enough of them. We have to remove them from the table or they are all she will eat. I use part of the butter to dab on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This is is! I was looking for something to do with our many tomatoes and found it. My husband loved it. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States