Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My grandmother made a similar dish...I used olive oil to replace butter....will try ww bread next time. Thanks for posting this! You can use cheese or not, different seasonings etc. and, I used canned tomatoes with juice~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I also added cheese, parmesan and a mozza cheddar blend... I forgot the brown sugar but sure did not miss it. Yummmmm! I also just used some foccacia croutons instead of the bread cubes. A very good vegan side dish to use up my Roma tomatoes! Thanks Linda for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe. I probably would not add as much brown sugar next time, as I like my tomatoes a little less sweet. I followed other suggestions and toasted my bread cubes until crusty, and added some garlic. Substituted half the butter for some olive oil. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
YUMMY! I added a bit of garlic and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. I also used old bread - dryer than normal. The bread was sourdough cheese bread, and that added even more to the flavor. Thanks! A very adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shieldsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Loved this dish. I did add just a little parmesan cheese and mozz. cheese. I will be making this again. This would be real good without the cheese. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I use seasoned croutons for this recipe and layer everything in the casserole dish rather than cooking it on the stove top first --- with home grown tomatoes (especially at THIS time of the year, I have so many to use up!), this is delicious. I layer everything in the casserole dish and then bake it. Mix the salt, pepper, basil, sugar, dried onion, and some garlic powder together, then 1 layer of croutons, 1 layer of tomatoes, sprinkle half of seasoning mixture , 1 layer of croutons, 1 layer of tomatoes, rest of seasoning, 1 layer of croutons), melt the butter and pour over all, then bake. When I have it in the fridge, I also add some fontina and layer that on top of the seasoning. OMG, I'm making this again this evening, I'm hungry just writing about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is a great way to use up tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pennsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I added a bit of cheese on top with ten minutes left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I really wasn't sure what to expect from this one, but was intrigued enough to give it a try. I thought the bread (I used a nice Italian bread) did get soggy in parts and that was to be expected, I suppose. I would suggest toasting it beforehand (or going with others' suggestions in using seasoned croutons) but really, as is, it's pretty dang delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IRISHGINA74
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe stated. Yes it was a little mushy on the bottom, but the flavor was so good that I didn't care!!! This was a great way t use up garden tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe. I loved every bite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States