Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
made it last night w/many tomatoes fresh from my garden. Added chopped fresh spinach, mozarella, parmesan, seasoned croutons instead of bread cubes, and a good amount of garlic. Even my 14 year old ate it. It's all gone now because I had the rest as breakfast! Very nice recipe find, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a mush, a not very much tomato flavor mushy bread. I wasted 6 of my beautiful home-grown tomatoes on this dish that I just threw away after one taste. Don't bother making this unless you like mushy white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The original version of this recipe was something my mom used to make. I made it once for my husband and he didn't like it. Then I saw something similar on a cooking show but with some additions. The additions were garlic, basil and cheese. I love the original. Hubby loved the morphed version. Each is a great way to showcase fresh out of the garden tomatoes. And in mid winter, try it with canned diced tomatoes. takes you right back to summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great dish! I used it as a side dish with scrambled eggs and whole wheat pancakes - basically in place of hashbrown casserole. The only change I made was to use whole wheat bread and I toasted it before mixing it in. The flavor was great. Like another reviewer said - I may peel the tomatoes next time. Also it was a little soupy. But overall it was a great compliment with our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Came out a little soupy, but was very tasty! If you have an overabundance of tomatoes from your garden it is a great recipe for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty awesome. It was a bit soggy but the taste made up for it. This would make an awesome pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My grandmother made a similar dish...I used olive oil to replace butter....will try ww bread next time. Thanks for posting this! You can use cheese or not, different seasonings etc. and, I used canned tomatoes with juice~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I also added cheese, parmesan and a mozza cheddar blend... I forgot the brown sugar but sure did not miss it. Yummmmm! I also just used some foccacia croutons instead of the bread cubes. A very good vegan side dish to use up my Roma tomatoes! Thanks Linda for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe. I probably would not add as much brown sugar next time, as I like my tomatoes a little less sweet. I followed other suggestions and toasted my bread cubes until crusty, and added some garlic. Substituted half the butter for some olive oil. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
YUMMY! I added a bit of garlic and a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. I also used old bread - dryer than normal. The bread was sourdough cheese bread, and that added even more to the flavor. Thanks! A very adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shieldsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States