Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was a mess; the brown sugar made the tomatoes bitter. This won't be a repeat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I also added a couple of things, fresh minced garlic, some chopped red bell pepper and grated Colby Jack cheese!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! Big plus, just as good the next day!!! This will be one of my go to recipes every chance I get!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I am not a fan of tomatoes, but I've been looking for ways to eat them that I can actually enjoy. This recipe did the trick! I made mine with a nutty multi-grain bread, which added great texture. It's super easy, good for you, and I made it for less that 50 cents! Great with a sprinkle of parm and a side of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe. Brown sugar...really? But it had so many good reviews, and we had so many tomatoes, we decided to give it a shot. I used toasted wheat bread and added Parmesan. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very very tasty. Used homegrown tomatoes and seasoned croutons, added a little garlic, and topped with parmesan shavings during the last 10 minutes. Will be sure to make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Terrific recipe! I had so many tomatoes ripe in the garden that I didn't know what to do with. I used a mixture of red cherry, golden dwarf, yellow plumb and snow white tomatoes for a nice color variation. I'm glad I came across this recipe. I read all of the reviews and decided to mix in 1/4 cup shredded parmesian as well as sprinkle a bit on top. I used fresh basil, about 1/4 cup. The bread I had on hand was a sourdough wheat. It added a subtle flavor of it's own. Turned out great! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is the first time I've ever made scalloped tomatoes and I'm so glad I did! They were delicious! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
made it last night w/many tomatoes fresh from my garden. Added chopped fresh spinach, mozarella, parmesan, seasoned croutons instead of bread cubes, and a good amount of garlic. Even my 14 year old ate it. It's all gone now because I had the rest as breakfast! Very nice recipe find, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a mush, a not very much tomato flavor mushy bread. I wasted 6 of my beautiful home-grown tomatoes on this dish that I just threw away after one taste. Don't bother making this unless you like mushy white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The original version of this recipe was something my mom used to make. I made it once for my husband and he didn't like it. Then I saw something similar on a cooking show but with some additions. The additions were garlic, basil and cheese. I love the original. Hubby loved the morphed version. Each is a great way to showcase fresh out of the garden tomatoes. And in mid winter, try it with canned diced tomatoes. takes you right back to summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States