Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This dish was so tasty. I added a carrot along with the sweet potatoes and butternut squash. The combinations of flavors make this an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
5 stars for flavor, but between my slow slicing and an oven that runs a little on the cool side, this took me 2 1/2 hrs to make. Next time, I will have to use a mandolin slicer to speed things up. (The thinner slices should bring me down closer to the stated bake time as well.) I also added extra milk, forgetting that the squash releases quite a bit of liquid as it cooks, so my sauce was more watery than creamy. HOWEVER..., the dish was still absolutely delicious--almost dessert-worthy. Can't wait to try this one on company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent. Due to time constraints, I handled the pre-baking differently: First I peeled then thinly sliced the squash and potatoes with food processor blade, then microwaved for 5 minutes with a little olive oil. Everything else I did as written. Start to finish in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Super delicious. I personally like to cook with wine and I added about 1/4 c of pinot grigio to the sauce. I also added a clove of chopped galic as well. Amazing flavor. It was the first time I tried butternut squash. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
bland...needs more garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used this recipe but changed a couple things.. I added mushrooms to the sauce as well as a few other spices. In addition to that when layering the pan I added spinach and ricotta. I'll post pictures after its been baked off. Great recipe I thank you for the sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I loved this dish! Idid make quite a few changes, but stayed to the idea of the dish. I didnt have asiago so I used mozzarella and fresh parmesan. I also used a whole onion. The sauce was not enough to coat the vegies so I added another cup of milk/1 tbsp flour. In addition, no sage so I used thyme, a little garlic salt and I like the cinnamon taste mixed with root vegies so I added a teaspoon. My husband was skeptical, but said it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was looking for something other than the usual mashed sweet potatoes for dinner with friends and decided to try this. I doubled the number of sweet potatoes and butternut squash without doubling the sauce, but it was fine. (There's a lot of variation in the sizes of sweet potatoes, too, so it's sort of hard to tell whether I was really "doubling" the original amount.) Instead of garlic salt I used garlic herb butter (Kerrygold) for the sauce and it was delicious. More preparation time than I wanted, but I will definitely make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My family loved it. Potatoes we not quite cooked for the baking time. I would cook it an additional 1/2 hour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Delicious! You can also substitute shaved parmesan cheese and a little grated parmesan cheese for the asiago, as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States