Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Thank you for this recipe, I absolutely love it. I've made this dish numerous times and it comes out amazing every time. I did use the sherry as suggested in the original recipe and it's delicious. I did however make a couple modifications which I feel make it even tastier. I use heavy cream instead of milk. This makes the consistency much thicker, but obviously if you're being health conscious this is not the way to go. Also, instead of cheddar, I use a bag of Mexican three cheese blend. As another reviewer stated, I would also suggest the melting of the butter and the cheese to be done over the stove. This dish is so delicious and easy to prepare I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe pretty closely and the potatoes were delicious! I didn't have any sherry or wine in the house so I used a few glugs of lager....tasty. Instead of baking in a glass dish I put the whole mixture in my cast iron and baked in that resulting in a crispy cheese crust around the edges. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elstilez
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
this was great, my boyfriend really liked it. i was trying to use up the rest of my coconut milk so i used that instead of regular milk and also cut the butter by half as suggested by other reviewers and used half cheddar cheese and half gouda. I used white wine instead of sherry (i didn't have sherry and it was suggested by some to substitute wine). i also put some extra mixed cheese on top before the cornflake crumbs (my boyfriend really like the baked cheese thing ;-) ) and it was great! pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elstilez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Instead of the microwave I made the cheese sauce over the stove and I left the sherry out. Making a stove top cheese sauce was not very time consuming. I also cut calories by using 1% milk and reduced fat cheddar. I used Italian seasoned breadcrumbs instead of cereal crumbs. It still made a wonderfully cheesy and tasty scalloped potatoes dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this dish for our Xmas Eve office dinner and everyone LOVED it! The only changes I made was heating the milk, butter, and cheese on the stove. I also added 1 teaspoon of Fox Point seasoning (from Penzeys Spice). I also used new red potatoes. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe, nice flavor and very simple to put together. I would suggest melting butter with cheese(s) and milk over the stove instead of the microwave. Microwave could cause splatter and the cheese to crust a little at the edges. I think this recipe would do well with some onions as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Extremely satifying when you substitute white wine for the sherry and Ritz crackers for the cornflakes as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
made this last night for my boyfriend and family. they really did enjoy this dish! a little more work than the variety of instant potatoes offered at the grocery store, but nothing beats meals from scratch. the only recommendation i could give would be to add more cheese, and if another type of cheese is preferred, go for it! other than that... it was very good. would make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added onions to the potatoes while they were cooking. I added sour cream, chives and garlic to the cheese sauce and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and a friend of ours loved this recipe. It will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Not bad...I didn't use Sherry in this recipe. And I also changed the corn-flake crumbs to Ritz crumbs (place crackers in sealable bag and have-at-em with a rolling pin!) I'd think that the cereal would be a bit on the sweeter side(??) where the Ritz added a nice salty taste. I used the only chedder cheese that I could find at my regular Japan grocery store! (at least I found some!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JapanJules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States