Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a really easy recipe and both my wife and I really liked it. We both had seconds. I did scale down the recipe for two and added some chopped up onions before putting in the oven. I forgot to add the sherry but it was still really good. I may have boiled the potatoes a bit longer than I should have but I think this may have been one of the things I liked about this. The corn flakes toping was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I give it 5 stars for the concept, but I changed it a lot. I used half cheddar and half velveeta for the cheeses to keep it from being oily from all cheddar. I also only used 4 tbsp of butter, and a splash of white wine instead of cooking sherry. I cooked the sauce on the stove so I could control the heat, and I added in some pepper as well. I used gluten free breadcrumbs in lieu of cornflakes. It turned out amazing! The wine was essential, it wouldn't have tasted nearly as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Extremely satifying when you substitute white wine for the sherry and Ritz crackers for the cornflakes as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added onions to the potatoes while they were cooking. I added sour cream, chives and garlic to the cheese sauce and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and a friend of ours loved this recipe. It will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was very good. I changed the nutrition information considerably by using only 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup cornflake crumbs. It was healthier --but the taste didn't suffer, and the health conscious can still enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Can you say COMFORT FOOD!! I could have eaten the whole batch of it. I didn't have sherry on hand so omitted that, and I usd american cheese instead of cheddar. I also did not have corn flakes so I used bread crumbs. The kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
my guests loved it i love this website my dad has a a brunch and dinner place and i have been sending him recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great tasting recipe... I did make a few changes before getting started. Added two chopped scallions and cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used american cheese instead of the cheddar and added just a little more sherry. The results were very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this dish for our Xmas Eve office dinner and everyone LOVED it! The only changes I made was heating the milk, butter, and cheese on the stove. I also added 1 teaspoon of Fox Point seasoning (from Penzeys Spice). I also used new red potatoes. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was very good. My modifications were: cheese soup, a little mexican cheese, milk and some roasted garlic. I used panko bread crumbs because I didn't have cornflakes. My husband and two kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States