Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a really easy recipe and both my wife and I really liked it. We both had seconds. I did scale down the recipe for two and added some chopped up onions before putting in the oven. I forgot to add the sherry but it was still really good. I may have boiled the potatoes a bit longer than I should have but I think this may have been one of the things I liked about this. The corn flakes toping was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I give it 5 stars for the concept, but I changed it a lot. I used half cheddar and half velveeta for the cheeses to keep it from being oily from all cheddar. I also only used 4 tbsp of butter, and a splash of white wine instead of cooking sherry. I cooked the sauce on the stove so I could control the heat, and I added in some pepper as well. I used gluten free breadcrumbs in lieu of cornflakes. It turned out amazing! The wine was essential, it wouldn't have tasted nearly as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Extremely satifying when you substitute white wine for the sherry and Ritz crackers for the cornflakes as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Can you say COMFORT FOOD!! I could have eaten the whole batch of it. I didn't have sherry on hand so omitted that, and I usd american cheese instead of cheddar. I also did not have corn flakes so I used bread crumbs. The kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added onions to the potatoes while they were cooking. I added sour cream, chives and garlic to the cheese sauce and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and a friend of ours loved this recipe. It will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this dish for our Xmas Eve office dinner and everyone LOVED it! The only changes I made was heating the milk, butter, and cheese on the stove. I also added 1 teaspoon of Fox Point seasoning (from Penzeys Spice). I also used new red potatoes. The flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was very good. I changed the nutrition information considerably by using only 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup cornflake crumbs. It was healthier --but the taste didn't suffer, and the health conscious can still enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
my guests loved it i love this website my dad has a a brunch and dinner place and i have been sending him recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great tasting recipe... I did make a few changes before getting started. Added two chopped scallions and cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used american cheese instead of the cheddar and added just a little more sherry. The results were very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was very good. My modifications were: cheese soup, a little mexican cheese, milk and some roasted garlic. I used panko bread crumbs because I didn't have cornflakes. My husband and two kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States