Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I give it 5 stars for the concept, but I changed it a lot. I used half cheddar and half velveeta for the cheeses to keep it from being oily from all cheddar. I also only used 4 tbsp of butter, and a splash of white wine instead of cooking sherry. I cooked the sauce on the stove so I could control the heat, and I added in some pepper as well. I used gluten free breadcrumbs in lieu of cornflakes. It turned out amazing! The wine was essential, it wouldn't have tasted nearly as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
The cheese sauce was really soupy and was not thick enough. The cheddar made it real oily. I would recommend using American Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added onions to the potatoes while they were cooking. I added sour cream, chives and garlic to the cheese sauce and it was absolutely delicious. My husband and a friend of ours loved this recipe. It will be used over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Extremely satifying when you substitute white wine for the sherry and Ritz crackers for the cornflakes as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was very good. I changed the nutrition information considerably by using only 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup cornflake crumbs. It was healthier --but the taste didn't suffer, and the health conscious can still enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great tasting recipe... I did make a few changes before getting started. Added two chopped scallions and cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used american cheese instead of the cheddar and added just a little more sherry. The results were very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very tasty! I served it as a side with the Key West Chicken (also found at this site, though I substituted pork loin slices to great success) to friends and we all raved. However, instead of using boiled potatoes I fixed them in the French persillee manner: microwave potato chunks 15 minutes in a can of beef broth or consomme', a dash of salt and a dash of pepper, slices of butter to taste, and about three tablespoons of chopped parsley. (These potatoes are good in themselves, but when used to make the scalloped potatoes you have a very fine dish indeed!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe, nice flavor and very simple to put together. I would suggest melting butter with cheese(s) and milk over the stove instead of the microwave. Microwave could cause splatter and the cheese to crust a little at the edges. I think this recipe would do well with some onions as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great easy recipe. Like many others I added some american cheese to the mix. Also, added garlic and used plain tortilla chips (crushed of course) instead of corn flakes. The white wine or sherry makes a huge difference. One last addition, I added diced bacon to the mix. All said, the base recipe is awesome and makes it easy to add and tweak to your interests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Really good scalloped potatoes recipe! The entire family enjoyed this, there were no leftovers. I did make a couple minor modifications. I only used 3/4 of a cup of butter, because that was all I had. Instead of using cornflakes I used panko bread crumbs and I mixed parmesan and shredded mozzarella in with the breadcrumbs. Lastly, I added aprox 2 cups of chopped smoked ham steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States