Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
The cheese sauce was really soupy and was not thick enough. The cheddar made it real oily. I would recommend using American Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is a really easy recipe and both my wife and I really liked it. We both had seconds. I did scale down the recipe for two and added some chopped up onions before putting in the oven. I forgot to add the sherry but it was still really good. I may have boiled the potatoes a bit longer than I should have but I think this may have been one of the things I liked about this. The corn flakes toping was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was very good. I changed the nutrition information considerably by using only 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 cup cornflake crumbs. It was healthier --but the taste didn't suffer, and the health conscious can still enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner and I was embarassed to serve it, even if only to my family. It was an oily, lumpy, soupy, greasy mess. The potatoes were cooked, and that was about the only good part about it all. I will never use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Can you say COMFORT FOOD!! I could have eaten the whole batch of it. I didn't have sherry on hand so omitted that, and I usd american cheese instead of cheddar. I also did not have corn flakes so I used bread crumbs. The kids even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I give it 5 stars for the concept, but I changed it a lot. I used half cheddar and half velveeta for the cheeses to keep it from being oily from all cheddar. I also only used 4 tbsp of butter, and a splash of white wine instead of cooking sherry. I cooked the sauce on the stove so I could control the heat, and I added in some pepper as well. I used gluten free breadcrumbs in lieu of cornflakes. It turned out amazing! The wine was essential, it wouldn't have tasted nearly as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
My husband is a very picky eater and loved this. I added diced ham and used cheddar cheese instead of American. I didn't use any sherry, but I will when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Great tasting recipe... I did make a few changes before getting started. Added two chopped scallions and cut the butter to 1/4 cup. I used american cheese instead of the cheddar and added just a little more sherry. The results were very tasty. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Sorry, I did not care for this. In fact, I didn't want to finish what I made and gave the rest to my brother (who will eat almost anything but rarely gets anything home-cooked). It's not for any of the negative reasons already stated. There was just some flavor I didn't like and cannot pinpoint. I thought perhaps it was the crumb topping. But since 3 out of 4 5-star ratings are from people who left out the sherry or used white wine instead, I'm wondering if it was the "hint" of sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Not bad...I didn't use Sherry in this recipe. And I also changed the corn-flake crumbs to Ritz crumbs (place crackers in sealable bag and have-at-em with a rolling pin!) I'd think that the cereal would be a bit on the sweeter side(??) where the Ritz added a nice salty taste. I used the only chedder cheese that I could find at my regular Japan grocery store! (at least I found some!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JapanJules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States