Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I scaled it back to 3 servings & also took others advice about microwaving the potatoes 1st, I did it for about 5 minutes. I also left the peel on & sliced them that way. I took another persons advice & mixed the potatoes, cheese & onions in a bowl, put them on the bottom, poured milk over top and put pats of butter in as well. Then placed the chops over all that. I also poured a little bit of milk over the chops. Halfway through, I pulled the chops off, stirred the potatoes & put the chops back on making sure I flipped them. I used a lot of pepper (I am not a big salt fan). I also noticed it a little "watery" after the hour, so I left them in there a bit longer & took some of the juices and put over the chops. I think I may have used a little too much butter, but my fiancee who is SOOOOOOOOO picky about food, really enjoyed this. He voluntarily said, "This is something you can make again, this is really good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
This was really easy and good! I changed things alittle by slicing my potatoes and microwaving them for about 5 min. first, but I pretty much kept everything else the same. I salt/peppered and alittle garlic powder on the chops before baking and mixed the oinions, potatoes and cheese up in a bowl, then put in pan, covered with milk and butter and chops. This turned out really good, with just the right flavor and chops were pretty tender. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This turned out great! I cut the recipe in half, since it was just for my husband and I. I microwaved the sliced potatoes for 10 minutes before putting them in the oven. I also added a pinch of garlic powder. The key to keeping the pork chops juicy is to put them under the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe is delicious!!! I made this without the pork chops. I took other reviewers' advice and cut the potatoes very thin and then microwaved them for 10 mins. I also mixed the potatoes, onions and cheese in a bowl and then put it all in baking dish. After adding the milk and 3 pats of butter I then spirnkled it with garlic powder and a little salt. I covered with foil for the first forty minutes and after 1 hour it was perfect!! My whole family loved it! Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
I agree that one hour was not enough time for the potatoes. I covered the dish hoping that would help cook the potatoes a little longer, but I still ended cooking them an extra 30 minutes, uncovering in the last 20 minutes. I don't know if it was the covering of the dish but the milk did not cook in completely and the potatoes were still pretty milky. Overall good taste but I think I will add flour in with the potatoes next time to try to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
okay, first off never use thick cut pork chops in this recipe! That was what I had, so I tried it. Took over 2 hours to cook. Good flavor, but the cheese looks very unappealing. Looked back over the other reviews and this seems to be a common problem. The flavor is good, but perhaps a little pan searing before cooking would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These were okay! I read the reviews before I made them and everyone seemed to recommend microwaving potatoes before-hand. I microwaved my potatoes for 5 minutes before placing them in the baking dish, and they still turned out under-cooked. I would recommend microwaving the potatoes for maybe 10 minutes. I would mix the milk, onions, and potatoes very well first and then put the cheese on top. Bake covered. The recipe doesn't specify, but that would be best. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is quite good. I did feel the whole thing needed to be covered with foil for the first half of the baking time so as to ensure the potatoes would cook throughout. Also, next time, I will combine the potatoes, cheese and onions before placing chops on top. I feel these ingredients would be mixed together more as true scalloped potatoes if prepared that way. Very good 'comfort food'. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
My family absolutely LOVED this recipe, even my picky 6 yr. and 2 yr. olds!! I agree that something needs to be changed to get the potatoes cooked through. I'm making this recipe again tonight and am going to attempt to first microwave the potatoes SLIGHTLY before adding them to the baking dish. Other than this it is an excellent excellent meal. Thanks Jocelyne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This was an awesome recipe! My kids loved it and so did my husband. It is definently one I will be repeating in the future. I urge that every pork and potato lover give it a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States