Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
okay, first off never use thick cut pork chops in this recipe! That was what I had, so I tried it. Took over 2 hours to cook. Good flavor, but the cheese looks very unappealing. Looked back over the other reviews and this seems to be a common problem. The flavor is good, but perhaps a little pan searing before cooking would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
These were okay! I read the reviews before I made them and everyone seemed to recommend microwaving potatoes before-hand. I microwaved my potatoes for 5 minutes before placing them in the baking dish, and they still turned out under-cooked. I would recommend microwaving the potatoes for maybe 10 minutes. I would mix the milk, onions, and potatoes very well first and then put the cheese on top. Bake covered. The recipe doesn't specify, but that would be best. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. I mixed the potatoes, onions, milk, butter and cheese all together like previous reviews had suggested. I also micorwaved the potatoes for 5 minutes prior to placing in bakind dish. I halfed everything except for the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Korba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Bland!! Sorry, but this is not a repeat recipe for us. We followed the recipe exactly and the dish lacked flavor and was excessively greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stjørdal, Nord-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I scaled it back to 3 servings & also took others advice about microwaving the potatoes 1st, I did it for about 5 minutes. I also left the peel on & sliced them that way. I took another persons advice & mixed the potatoes, cheese & onions in a bowl, put them on the bottom, poured milk over top and put pats of butter in as well. Then placed the chops over all that. I also poured a little bit of milk over the chops. Halfway through, I pulled the chops off, stirred the potatoes & put the chops back on making sure I flipped them. I used a lot of pepper (I am not a big salt fan). I also noticed it a little "watery" after the hour, so I left them in there a bit longer & took some of the juices and put over the chops. I think I may have used a little too much butter, but my fiancee who is SOOOOOOOOO picky about food, really enjoyed this. He voluntarily said, "This is something you can make again, this is really good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I made this recipe the other day for my family and even my husband who is a picky eater eat it and love it and they all keep asking me to make it again..this is staying in the top of our list or pork chops. thanxs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHYDESIGN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
this was the best thing my family and i have ever tasted!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
We thought this was very good! I followed other reviewers suggestions, and microwaved the potatoes for 10 minutes before putting them in the dish, and they came out perfectly cooked. I also seasoned with garlic salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Sorry, but this was kind of bland. I took others advice and put the pork chops on the bottom, so that part worked ok. But it was just too greasy and bland for me. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States