Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a very good meal, made the serving for 3 and I added boneless pork ribs, very tasty and my wife was very happy! thx u! Next time I'll add the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Good, but I think it needs more cheese. Like other reviewers I cooked the potatoes in the microwave first (5 whole white potatoes at 8 minutes--almost fully cooked). I found mixing the ingredients ahead of time sort of difficult, as the cheese clumped into an unwieldly mess. Next time I won't pre-mix. I used boneless small pork chops which got too dry--I think--although everyone liked them. I baked in a convection oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. My kids refuse to eat onion, so I substituted with onion flakes and I added garlic powder to the potatoe mix. I topped the pork chops with steak seasoning. In the future, I'll add a bit of flour like others suggested, add more cheese, bake for less time, and only salt rather than steak season the pork chops. Other thoughts, I'm at about 6000 feet above sea-level. Thanks for the recipe!! We'll definitely make it again (there are few recipes that everyone in the family likes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this today I sliced my potatoes very thin and onion as well I had to cook mine longer it seemed an extra 30 min it looked kinda wierd like not scalloped potatoes they were soft evnough tho it may taste a little bland I"m not sure hopefully my parents will eat it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Yummy comfort food. Definitely microwave the sliced potatoes before putting them in the oven, if you want them fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I think it was a great and tasty dish. My pork chops were awsome, how ever for some reason with my potatoes cut as thin as I could get them they had to cook longer than 60 min. Other than that the kids and wife and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Cherish Danforth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yummy. I also used parmesan cheese. I sprinkled it over the potatoes/onions & then added the shredded cheddar on top. Thanks for the yummy, easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Love it! It was quick and easy. The entire thing could be done in one dish. Great for busy mom's with newborns. Update: I tried this in my slow cooker and it turn out great! The potatoes were done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I followed others' advice and par cooked the potatoes in the microwave first, then mixed the potatoes with the onions, cheese and milk with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I had thick cut pork chops so I sauteed them first in olive oil and garlic and added on top of the potato mixture. Everything cooked fine in an hour, my husband LOVED it, but my daughters and I didn't like the potatoes very much. There were way too many onions and its too oily from all the cheese. I liked how tender the pork chops came out though, so if tried this one again, I would use only half an onion and less cheese just sprinkled on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
great recipe, easy and pretty quick. I microwaved the potatoes for just under 10 minutes, but still had to increase the baking time by about 30 minutes to finish the potatoes. I also used thick cut chops and split them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I wish I had read the reviews of this before I put it in the oven on a night when dinner absolutely had to be ready at a specific time. There was absolutely no way that the potatoes were even close to being cooked in an hour and while others mentioned nuking the potatoes in the microwave first, we don't own a microwave, so boiling the potatoes and then slicing them could have worked. The pork was done after an hour and I finished cooking the potatoes today in my slow cooker on high for 4 hours. The finished potatoes were a little weird...the sauce never really came together, I stirred several times but the finished dish was weird and separated. I think making a white sauce would have been helpful instead of just using milk. All that being said, my husband did say the potatoes were good and he won't mince words if he doesn't like something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States