Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm sure the recipe would have turned out perfectly if I had made it to the written proportions, but I had to make do with what we had. It still turned out nice but a bit too liquidy for our tastes. I used 5 medium potatoes sliced, and had about 3/4 lb pork loin that I stripped up. I only used 2 cups of cheese and 1/2 cup milk. It seems I needed either more cheese or less milk. I also microwaved the potatoes once sliced for about 8-10 minutes before assembling. Everything cooked up well in the hour suggested. The meat was tender though it would have been better to have more. No complaints from my husband tho. I will most likely make it again with the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a very good meal, made the serving for 3 and I added boneless pork ribs, very tasty and my wife was very happy! thx u! Next time I'll add the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Good, but I think it needs more cheese. Like other reviewers I cooked the potatoes in the microwave first (5 whole white potatoes at 8 minutes--almost fully cooked). I found mixing the ingredients ahead of time sort of difficult, as the cheese clumped into an unwieldly mess. Next time I won't pre-mix. I used boneless small pork chops which got too dry--I think--although everyone liked them. I baked in a convection oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. My kids refuse to eat onion, so I substituted with onion flakes and I added garlic powder to the potatoe mix. I topped the pork chops with steak seasoning. In the future, I'll add a bit of flour like others suggested, add more cheese, bake for less time, and only salt rather than steak season the pork chops. Other thoughts, I'm at about 6000 feet above sea-level. Thanks for the recipe!! We'll definitely make it again (there are few recipes that everyone in the family likes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this today I sliced my potatoes very thin and onion as well I had to cook mine longer it seemed an extra 30 min it looked kinda wierd like not scalloped potatoes they were soft evnough tho it may taste a little bland I"m not sure hopefully my parents will eat it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Yummy comfort food. Definitely microwave the sliced potatoes before putting them in the oven, if you want them fully cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I think it was a great and tasty dish. My pork chops were awsome, how ever for some reason with my potatoes cut as thin as I could get them they had to cook longer than 60 min. Other than that the kids and wife and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Cherish Danforth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yummy. I also used parmesan cheese. I sprinkled it over the potatoes/onions & then added the shredded cheddar on top. Thanks for the yummy, easy recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Love it! It was quick and easy. The entire thing could be done in one dish. Great for busy mom's with newborns. Update: I tried this in my slow cooker and it turn out great! The potatoes were done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I followed others' advice and par cooked the potatoes in the microwave first, then mixed the potatoes with the onions, cheese and milk with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I had thick cut pork chops so I sauteed them first in olive oil and garlic and added on top of the potato mixture. Everything cooked fine in an hour, my husband LOVED it, but my daughters and I didn't like the potatoes very much. There were way too many onions and its too oily from all the cheese. I liked how tender the pork chops came out though, so if tried this one again, I would use only half an onion and less cheese just sprinkled on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
great recipe, easy and pretty quick. I microwaved the potatoes for just under 10 minutes, but still had to increase the baking time by about 30 minutes to finish the potatoes. I also used thick cut chops and split them in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fairhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States