Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
We've been making a dish like this for over 40 years. Our 7 kids grew-up on it, and they made it for their kids. We always precook the potatoes about 10 minutes, season and brown the steaks or chops with a little salt & pepper, garlic powder and a tad of ground savory. We use a can of cream of mushroom and celery soup, and 2 cans of milk. Mix the soup and milk together, then in the baking dish, mix the soup mixture with the potatoes. Nesle the chops into the potatoes, so they are almost covered in the soup mix. Bake covered until the potatoes are tender and meat juices run clear. That's our version of scalloped potatoes and pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was just edible, the potatoes tasted decent but the milk curdled and separated so it looked unappealing. I sliced the potatoes with the thinnest blade on my mandoline and it still took an extra 30 minutes to cook. I removed the pork chops after 1 hour and they were already dry and overcooked. I like the idea of this recipe but I would not make it again without significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
awesome! I dont like oily dishes or butter, so I sub soy butter for oil and reg. butter and it was DElish! My boy didn't even know the diff. Totally going for asecond round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Family loved this dish. I however cooked it on 375 degrees F instead of 350 for one hour. Potatoes were perfect, the meat fell off the bones, it was just delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made the mistake of not reading the reviews befor cooking and had to cook for an additional 35 min and the potatoes were still not quite done. I took out of the oven only because the pork was going to be overcooked. I ended up trying to put each serving of potatoes in the microwave for a couple of minutes before serving. I was only glad that we weren't on a time constraint for dinner. Also the sauce was very gloppy. Probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jasper, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Keeper! with mods. I dropped the recipe to 3 servings and added a half cup sliced mushrooms. I used thin cut pork chops but would use regular cut or thick cut and sear them off before putting them in the casserole. My prep time, thanks to a cuisinart was only about 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found that like many others on this site this recipe definately needs a lot of tweeking. The sauce is greasy and clumpy and definately takes more than 30 minutes to cook. I think I will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Add garlic and sour cream....you have to cook this longer than an hour! Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari L'Abbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
The recipe turned out great. I let the porkchops marinate in a mix of seasonng for a few hours to make them tender. I also added more cheese to potatoes and let it cook longer because potatoes were not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm sure the recipe would have turned out perfectly if I had made it to the written proportions, but I had to make do with what we had. It still turned out nice but a bit too liquidy for our tastes. I used 5 medium potatoes sliced, and had about 3/4 lb pork loin that I stripped up. I only used 2 cups of cheese and 1/2 cup milk. It seems I needed either more cheese or less milk. I also microwaved the potatoes once sliced for about 8-10 minutes before assembling. Everything cooked up well in the hour suggested. The meat was tender though it would have been better to have more. No complaints from my husband tho. I will most likely make it again with the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States