Scalloped Potatoes and Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was so good! I scaled it down to 3 servings as it's just my fiancé and I and it was the perfect amount. Luckily I had read the reviews prior to making this so I microwaved my potatoes for ten minutes, then mixed the cheese and onion in with them before putting them in the baking dish. I added the milk, then put in only 1 tbsp margarine before placing the chops, which I seasoned, on top. Finally, i added a little bit more milk over the chops, covered with foil and popped in the oven. After 30 minutes, I removed the foil and left in for the remaining 30 minutes. The potatoes were perfect and the pork chops were great. My fiancé was very happy with this dish and told me to add it to "the book"! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaRae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
We've been making a dish like this for over 40 years. Our 7 kids grew-up on it, and they made it for their kids. We always precook the potatoes about 10 minutes, season and brown the steaks or chops with a little salt & pepper, garlic powder and a tad of ground savory. We use a can of cream of mushroom and celery soup, and 2 cans of milk. Mix the soup and milk together, then in the baking dish, mix the soup mixture with the potatoes. Nesle the chops into the potatoes, so they are almost covered in the soup mix. Bake covered until the potatoes are tender and meat juices run clear. That's our version of scalloped potatoes and pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This was just edible, the potatoes tasted decent but the milk curdled and separated so it looked unappealing. I sliced the potatoes with the thinnest blade on my mandoline and it still took an extra 30 minutes to cook. I removed the pork chops after 1 hour and they were already dry and overcooked. I like the idea of this recipe but I would not make it again without significant changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
awesome! I dont like oily dishes or butter, so I sub soy butter for oil and reg. butter and it was DElish! My boy didn't even know the diff. Totally going for asecond round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Family loved this dish. I however cooked it on 375 degrees F instead of 350 for one hour. Potatoes were perfect, the meat fell off the bones, it was just delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made the mistake of not reading the reviews befor cooking and had to cook for an additional 35 min and the potatoes were still not quite done. I took out of the oven only because the pork was going to be overcooked. I ended up trying to put each serving of potatoes in the microwave for a couple of minutes before serving. I was only glad that we weren't on a time constraint for dinner. Also the sauce was very gloppy. Probably won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jasper, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Keeper! with mods. I dropped the recipe to 3 servings and added a half cup sliced mushrooms. I used thin cut pork chops but would use regular cut or thick cut and sear them off before putting them in the casserole. My prep time, thanks to a cuisinart was only about 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found that like many others on this site this recipe definately needs a lot of tweeking. The sauce is greasy and clumpy and definately takes more than 30 minutes to cook. I think I will keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindale, Texas, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Add garlic and sour cream....you have to cook this longer than an hour! Awesome stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari L'Abbe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
The recipe turned out great. I let the porkchops marinate in a mix of seasonng for a few hours to make them tender. I also added more cheese to potatoes and let it cook longer because potatoes were not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States