Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
10 stars. This is awesome with some minor adjustments. My entire picky family loved these. For serving of four: I used 5-6 small white potatoes (sliced thin) 1 small onion (diced), 5T flour, 5T butter, 2 and 1/4 c milk, 1/2t pepper, 1/2t dry mustard, 1t each of garlic powder, onion powder, paprika and salt, pinch of cayenne pepper and 1/4 c parm cheese. OK grease 2 quart casserole dish, preheat over 425, make roux in saucepan: melt butter then whisk flour cook one minute until it resembles wet sand, add rest and cook until slight thick. put one layer potatoes, one layer onions, one layer sauce and continue once again. Top off with paprika and parm cheese, cook 425 5 minutes then 375 for 50 minutes. Awesome and actually very easy. Must try will not be sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
695 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
like most others have stated, this recipe as it is given is very bland but there are many remedies as suggested by others that make it fab-o!! i will do my best to summarize them all so others behind me don't have to sift through hundreds of reviews... 1.) boil the potatoes for 5 mins beforehand to reduce the cooking time in half 2.) make a roux of the sauce rather than pouring ingredients directly on top. roux is made by mixing flour, butter and milk into sauce pan on medium heat. then add seasonings as you like. 3.) use seasonings to make this recipe really pop. i used 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp celery salt, 1 tbsp chopped onions, a pinch of thyme, a pinch of rosemary, 2 pinches of parsley, 2 pinches of oregano. then at the very last second when the roux was simmering nicely, i added 1/4 cup of shaved parmesan cheese. 4.) once you drain the potatoes, place one layer in the bottom of a 9x13 glass casserole dish, then drizzle 1/3 of the sauce on top. repeat for 2 more layers. 5.) cook covered at 425 degF until the sauce boils and then remov cover and cook at 350 degF for 30 mins. 6.) to get the top of the potatoes browned, you may need to broil them for 5 additional minutes (depending on your oven's cooking capabilities). 7.) voila - enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
552 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These are just like the ones my MIL used to make! Ok, if you're looking for a fancy-type dish, then don't bother with it - and yes, there is no cheese, etc., so they are not "au gratin" potatoes. These are just plain old down-home scalloped potatoes like granny used to make. These go excellently with pork roast, pork chops, or pork tenderloin. The only thing I did differently was to add pepper - I think that maybe the submitter forgot pepper in the ingredient list since she described it with "seasonings" (plural). Also, maybe my oven is fast (convection), but 45 minutes was plenty (even maybe a bit too long) for cooking time. Anyway, it's very simple and ingredients are all something I usually have on hand! Thanks for sharing.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Turned out pretty well. I made a few basic changes. First, I made a roux out of the flour/butter, added the milk and let it thicken to avoid the lumps. I also added about 1 tsp of salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, a sprinking of garlic salt, and 1/4-1/2 cup parmesan cheese. I spread this sauce over each layer of potatoes and cooked as directed. They did require more time to cook than indicated and it didn't say whether to cook covered or uncovered. I did covered but then had to turn the broiler on for a bit to brown the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Wonderful and simple recipe! I will always use this one for my family. Great to put together ahead of time and pop into the oven. For those of you who added this, that and the other...why? It's supposed to taste like potatoes! For those of you who said make a rouge...why? It's supposed to be a simple recipe, who wants another unnecessary step *and* another dirty pan to wash! Sounds like you folks need to submit your own recipe, because you are totally changing what this recipe is all about...ease, simplicity, & down-home flavor :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I normally make this dish with the traditional cheddar cheese sauce, but decided that I wanted something a little different. I was a little concerned over differing reviews. The "bland" part can always be rectified but the flour issues kind of worried me. I was happy to see JEPPER'S review because I thought the "roux" idea was a good one. I made my roux in a sauce pan, added my milk along with black pepper, onion and garlic powder, parm cheese and some cayenne for a little zippity-do-dah. I placed my first layer of potatoes in the dish and poured some of the sauce on top, in addition to more parm cheese. I repeated this and ended with another sprinkling of parm and paprika. Very, very delicious Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
These potatoes were excellent! I had never made scalloped potatoes before, since my family doesn't usually like them. Even my picky four year old liked them! Next time I make these ( and there WILL be a next time!) I will try sifting the flour over the potato layers -- there weren't many lumps, but I think they could be avoided all together by using the sifter instead of sprinkling the flour with a spoon. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Good old, basic recipe that works well and is very good! I blended 1/2 the milk with all of the flour, poured it over the layers of potatoes and then poured the rest of the milk over the whole casserole at the end. I baked them at 425 for 30 mins and then turned down to 385 for 45 minutes. They were soft and delicious. I used almost 5 lbs of potatoes, but kept everything else the same. YUM! Thanks for a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I looked all over for this recipe, thanks! I sauted julienned bacon and finely chopped onion, and put that over the potatoes. Made a roux of the flour and butter, added the milk and a cup of sour cream. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This was good, better than the potato recipes that typically add a manufactured taste with canned soup. Simple to make, especially if the potatoes are sliced with a food processor. The sauce was slightly gummy and lumpy, but thickened up well, even with skim milk. In the future, I would cut down on the amount of flour somewhat, or start with a roux, since there was too much of a raw starch taste for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States