Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome...just like my irish father in law used to make. Sometimes he would throw in a handful of cheese for a treat, but usually it was just this version. It does not get lumpy, no roux is required. And yes, pepper is good, but not mandatory. I love that it is one pot, and no canned soups added in!! Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsVal
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Buchko this is perfect as is, but I'm a bacon hound so like my mother always did I topped it with a few strips of the good stuff. I'd never had the instructions or measurements written down before, always eyeballed it like Mom did but with the exact same ingredients. I used your recipe and they were almost exactly the same! Thank you for taking the time to measure, it is a lot easier recommending your recipe for them to try, rather than trying to explain what a couple of handfuls of flour looks like! lol Bravo on the perfect recipe, Buchko!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Thank you! MIL used to make a potato dish like this. She would tear up pieces of American cheese and layer it on top of the flour. Very simple, and always good. I've tried to replicate it and could never get the quantities of flour and milk correct. I omit the butter and replace it with the American cheese. A taste of home for my hubby. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arctic200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Very much like my moms. Only thing additional she adds is pepper and then once all in the dish she sprinkles some Paprika on top to give it that nice brown coloring on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This amazing recipe is one I grew up with, in fact it's probably the first dinner I ever helped with as a little girl (so much fun to layer those potatoes ;). We enjoyed it as written, sometimes adding chopped cooked leftover ham to make a hearty meal. We did just bake at 375 for roughly a full hour. Thanks for posting, it's a great meal and has so many happy memories for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Just like mom's basic recipe except she didn't use the hotter oven to start. I add chopped onion and black pepper at each layer. Sometimes use seasoning salt. Easy to add cheese if desired. Also easy to scale down for two people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Any recipe that can withstand my get-in-a-hurry and not-paying-attention mistakes and still come out great gets a top rating from me! Football was on last night, and I planned on putting this together during halftime..that was the hurry part. I didn't finish before the 3rd quarter started...that was the not pay attention because I'm watching the game part! To up the flavor, I chopped onion and layered that with the potatoes. I also added freshly gound pepper and shredded sharp cheddar cheese along with the salt, and I mixed the flour into the milk and poured over each layer as I made them. But...it was halfway into the cooking time when I realized that I had forgotten to use the butter! I took the pan out of the oven and let it cool for a bit, then mixed in the bits of butter and stirred everything together. I then smoothed the mixture and baked until the potatoes were tender. You would have never known this started as a disaster. They were creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used a few more seasonings than what is listed in the recipe: pepper, garlic powder, minced onion, and parsley flakes. I personally like a bit more seasoning on my potatoes, but I followed the directions as written. They took about 50 minutes to finish, and they were completely worth it. I would make these again any and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is almost exactly how my boyfriend's mother makes them, she just doesnt measure the ingredients out, and she adds pepper with the salt in the layers. A very easy and very yummy hearty side dish. The ONLY thing I would probably do different is to add a little chopped onion and/or garlic to the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Outstanding, a taste of home. Great with a pound of cooked ham diced tiny, sprinkle a handful on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States